First time Go-kart build

EasySmokes

Reaction score
Hello all,

I recently picked up this go kart on offer up for $250. Not sure the brand or model but it was a 2 seater kids kart.
Goals are to make a fun and quick street / yard kart.
IMG_5449.jpg

IMG_5456.jpgIMG_5453.jpg

It came with a Tecumseh engine, clutch driven. One wheel peel.
The engine itself has oil in it and turns over just fine. It needs a new carb and some cleaning.

65072874195__DD702EA2-EE01-4470-AAD5-F06F623E8726.jpgIMG_5472.JPG

So i started by loading the kart into my shed/ workshop and started stripping everything off the kart. Leaving the kart bare and ready for the floor pan to get removed.

IMG_5460.jpg
IMG_5463.jpg
IMG_5464.jpg
IMG_5467.jpg

EasySmokes

Reaction score
Here is the floor pan and the removal.
IMG_5468.jpg
IMG_5469.jpg
IMG_5478.jpg

I started cutting and grinding the remaining welds off the frame and went out and bought a couple sheets of 16ga sheet metal. Im a complete beginner to welding so i did the best i could to get the pan tack welded.

IMG_5500.jpg
IMG_5498.jpg
IMG_5503.jpg
IMG_5506.jpg
IMG_5508.jpg

And for the pipe that runs through the center of the floor pan, i ended up using self tapping screws as i want to weld it on the inside but it made me feel more secure as my welds are crap.

IMG_5511.jpg

EasySmokes

Reaction score
Back on the top side.

I ordered a Duromax 440cc, a torque converter, a single seat (as i am going to make this a single seat kart), a live axle kit, brake caliper, cables, rear wheels and tires, and new front tires. All from amazon.

Here is a pic of the live axle kit i ordered. Honestly pretty concerned on how im going to go about this, when i ordered this, i thought the brake disk and sprocket would be able to move left or right on the axle but it seems to be welded in place.

IMG_5519.PNG

I pulled the front tires off the rims and painted them

IMG_5514.jpg
IMG_5523.jpg
IMG_5531.jpg