2018 - Manco Dingo suspension & a little extra

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeaterofAincrad

2018 Build-Off Contestant
Reaction score
This is my first build-off so I hope I'm doing it right. Here is the gokart I'm going to be modifying, I just so happened to get a Manco dingo with a Tecumseh 195cc(~6.5hp) OHV engine used two winters ago. I test drove it but the chain needed to be shortened and we did that but then the engine needed to be slid forward but one of the bolts was put in the wrong way so it got stuck and we were running out of time so i took it for i think $120. It was in pretty rough shape, the frame was in great condition, but the brake was horrible(the drum somehow started tapering so the brake slides right off), the carb needed some tuning/cleaning, the rear tires were almost bald, the front left gets about 45 min and then its flat, and their was like 1-2" of play in the sprocket(the spot weld from previous owner gave out a few hours after I got it running decently). I got the brake and sprocket "fixed".
I machined a new sprocket hub and just have to bring it to a guy to hv a keyway put in it, I put a new throttle cable on cuz the previous one just barely reached the motor(that was also part of the tuning, it wouldn't run right). So now it runs good, I got a 30 series torque converter for my bday last fall and it was sooo worth the $80.