Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:41 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default can you install a tachometer on a small engine

can i and if i can how ??
  #2  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:43 AM
Russ2251's Avatar
Russ2251 Russ2251 is online now
2 Cycle Powered GoKarts
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,009
Thanks: 125
Thanked 529 Times in 468 Posts
Default

Tiny Tach works fine on all equipment.
__________________
Restorations "Я" Russ
  #3  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:44 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do i install
  #4  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:46 AM
Russ2251's Avatar
Russ2251 Russ2251 is online now
2 Cycle Powered GoKarts
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,009
Thanks: 125
Thanked 529 Times in 468 Posts
Default

1 wire to wrap around plug wire.
__________________
Restorations "Я" Russ
  #5  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:47 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh thanks !!
  #6  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:47 AM
Russ2251's Avatar
Russ2251 Russ2251 is online now
2 Cycle Powered GoKarts
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,009
Thanks: 125
Thanked 529 Times in 468 Posts
Default

Do a search on Tiny Tach.
__________________
Restorations "Я" Russ
  #7  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:50 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did are there any that arnt digatal
  #8  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:52 AM
bajagokart's Avatar
bajagokart bajagokart is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

havent heard of any analog tachs for small engines other than bikes
__________________
I'M SO PUMPED! - Adam Savage
  #9  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:52 AM
Russ2251's Avatar
Russ2251 Russ2251 is online now
2 Cycle Powered GoKarts
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,009
Thanks: 125
Thanked 529 Times in 468 Posts
Default

Not that I am aware of...
I'm sure something can be adapted.
__________________
Restorations "Я" Russ
  #10  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:56 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do adapted something ?
  #11  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:58 AM
bajagokart's Avatar
bajagokart bajagokart is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

most analog tachs that ive ever heard of are for multi cylinder engines only
__________________
I'M SO PUMPED! - Adam Savage
  #12  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:59 AM
pkgocart pkgocart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm illl thinks of something
  #13  
Old 06-11-2010, 12:15 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 197 Times in 179 Posts
Default

You could build a circuit that multiplied the pulses from the plug by 4 and use any old 8/6/4 tach.
  #14  
Old 06-11-2010, 12:18 PM
Kaptain Krunch's Avatar
Kaptain Krunch Kaptain Krunch is offline
Pro Junk Collector
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vermont
Posts: 4,519
Thanks: 66
Thanked 278 Times in 259 Posts
Default

old cable driven tach would work too...would have to be creative on the hookup tho.
__________________
"If you want, I can teach you how to make a bomb out of a toilet paper roll and a stick of dynamite"
  #15  
Old 06-11-2010, 12:19 PM
Flexibel_kampfe Flexibel_kampfe is offline
Hopeful for building kart
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 422
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Appart from restoration, might I ask why you would want Analog? Digital seems much easier to read.. There is a reason all high end cars use digital...
  #16  
Old 06-11-2010, 03:48 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 4,012
Thanks: 134
Thanked 91 Times in 80 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexibel_kampfe View Post
Appart from restoration, might I ask why you would want Analog? Digital seems much easier to read.. There is a reason all high end cars use digital...
digital is NOT ANYWERE CLOSE AS EASY TO READ its freaking **** on your eyes at night also.. having bright *** lights on your dash board and its also confusing because there too precise they jump around from say 3600 to 3601 3607 3605 3596... within a few seconds and that gets annoying as **** while a analog just kinda sits there and twitches somewhat.
__________________
Pardon me, sir gangster! but it apears your pants are declining in elevation!
  #17  
Old 06-12-2010, 01:13 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 197 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexibel_kampfe View Post
Appart from restoration, might I ask why you would want Analog? Digital seems much easier to read.. There is a reason all high end cars use digital...
Really? This is a ZR1 instrument cluster.


BMW M5


2009 F430


2010 Cadillac CTS-V


2010 Rolls-Royce Phantom Drophead Coupe
  #18  
Old 06-12-2010, 01:44 PM
Flexibel_kampfe Flexibel_kampfe is offline
Hopeful for building kart
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 422
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I see it alot on American Cars... The Europeans alway must take the difficult approach...
  #19  
Old 06-12-2010, 02:25 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 197 Times in 179 Posts
Default

What about the Caddy and Vette clusters I posted? You see it a lot on 1980s American cars, that's all. The digital dash was a failed experiment. The only new car I can think off off the top of my head with any digital readouts on the dash is the Honda civic and that's just the speed.

2010 Lincoln Town Car


2010 Chevy Aveo


2010 civic
  #20  
Old 06-12-2010, 03:01 PM
Flexibel_kampfe Flexibel_kampfe is offline
Hopeful for building kart
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 422
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Ahh.. thats what I was thinking of... speedometer.... opps.. I knew something was digital though!...
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.