Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2009, 04:14 PM
left4dawn's Avatar
left4dawn left4dawn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: graham, Wa
Posts: 53
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 13HP engine with tapered shaft

is there an adapter for a tapered shaft to turn it into a straight one? since this is a 13 hp engine the shaft is 1 inc and i think goes down to 3/4" but a clutch wont work on the a tapered shaft is there anyway to fabricate something to make this work? i did find this page that shows one guy making his own this is the website on my pc when i put it into the address bar it would say that the file is corrupted but i found that if you paste it in google and then when it shows the link click on quick view and it should open up the article the part about the adapter is near the bottom.
http://homemetalshopclub.org/news/05...letter0509.pdf

that is the only thing besides taking it to a machine shop that i found that may be useful. i want to use this engine since it is 13hp

does anyone know of a way to modify the shaft or anything that may help?
Attached Thumbnails
engine1.JPG  
__________________
Ahhh!! Flame Off, Flame Off!!!

Last edited by left4dawn; 10-30-2009 at 04:27 PM. Reason: forgot the picture
  #2  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:08 PM
anderkart's Avatar
anderkart anderkart is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix Arizona USA
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 292
Thanked 749 Times in 664 Posts
Default

I've heard of guys modding 1" tapered shafts to 3/4" without dis-assembly by turning the shaft down (lathe style) with the engine running, and then cutting a new keyway.

I dont know of any adaptors sold. I've thought about this before and wondered if the water pumps engine coupler (or whatever the engine was origanaly driving) could be cannibalized/modded and then mounted on a bearing supported shaft, and then somehow used as an adaptor to get a 1" or 3/4" non-tapered shaft to mount a standard clutch.

Evidently some of the Yamaha KT100 clutches mounted to a tapered shaft. I dont know what size shaft but you might look into that.

Hey, what brand is that engine?
  #3  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:27 PM
left4dawn's Avatar
left4dawn left4dawn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: graham, Wa
Posts: 53
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

on the pull start housing it says GN-360 the engine came off a generac 6500xl generator that is all i was able to find out about the engine itself. yeah i went to a little go kart shop in tacoma and they said you could try taking it to a machine shop or try using a grinder to get it to where i can put a clutch on but sounds too risky for a diy fix.
__________________
Ahhh!! Flame Off, Flame Off!!!
  #4  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:29 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 4,012
Thanks: 134
Thanked 91 Times in 80 Posts
Default

i would try and get a machine shop to make you a nice little addapter.
__________________
Pardon me, sir gangster! but it apears your pants are declining in elevation!
  #5  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:21 PM
BriggsTwins's Avatar
BriggsTwins BriggsTwins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh pa-Tallahassee- fl
Posts: 823
Thanks: 14
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Default

well its not a good idea to, but machine it down to 3/4, or replace the crank assembly
__________________
two is always better than one! -Twin Coalition-
  #6  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:06 PM
anderkart's Avatar
anderkart anderkart is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix Arizona USA
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 292
Thanked 749 Times in 664 Posts
Default

The other day I was looking at a pic of a small engines tapered flywheel shaft and I got the idea that meyby a flywheel could be cut down/turned on a lathe to end up with a homemade tapered pto shaft adapter. (might be kinda tricky getting the keyways right though...)

I did some research on these Generac GN-360 engines, they seem to be made by a division of Briggs & stratton. I found a bunch of component dimensions for this model listed in metric so I'm guessing Briggs has these built for them somewhere overseas.
  #7  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:42 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 197 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Buy a sprocket or pulley "blank" from mcmaster and have it machined to fit, then use that to run a jackshaft with your clutch on it, from this shaft you can also now run whatever accessories float your boat.
  #8  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:27 AM
hd4ou hd4ou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

just replace the crankshaft. much easier and not all that expensive. probably comparable to any machine shop charges and you will have a better product.
  #9  
Old 11-06-2009, 01:50 PM
left4dawn's Avatar
left4dawn left4dawn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: graham, Wa
Posts: 53
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have a few other small engines lying around but i would prefer to use the 13hp engine since it seems the most promising to run. would i be able to swap the crankshafts from these engines to the 13hp engine that is shown above? i have been sick the past week so i havent gotten much done to the kart besides a new paint job. Where would I be able to buy another crankshaft that would fit and be straight instead of tapered?
__________________
Ahhh!! Flame Off, Flame Off!!!
  #10  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:29 PM
BriggsTwins's Avatar
BriggsTwins BriggsTwins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh pa-Tallahassee- fl
Posts: 823
Thanks: 14
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Default

unfortunatly you really cant, the cranks are built to handle the power, anything less would be bad. But if one would fit its worth a shot. there might be a good fit, depending on the donor
__________________
two is always better than one! -Twin Coalition-
  #11  
Old 11-06-2009, 06:10 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 197 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd4ou View Post
just replace the crankshaft. much easier and not all that expensive. probably comparable to any machine shop charges and you will have a better product.
When is the last time you priced a new crank?
  #12  
Old 11-06-2009, 08:41 PM
BriggsTwins's Avatar
BriggsTwins BriggsTwins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh pa-Tallahassee- fl
Posts: 823
Thanks: 14
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Default

^ OMG kinda thing
__________________
two is always better than one! -Twin Coalition-
  #13  
Old 11-07-2009, 05:26 AM
hd4ou hd4ou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny_McCormic View Post
When is the last time you priced a new crank?
bout 3 mins ago. its $76.25 for a brand new one. go find a used one at a small engine shop graveyard for a lot cheaper.

http://www.jackssmallengines.com/gen...nchor%20Item6B

item# 6b if in fact this is your engine.
  #14  
Old 11-07-2009, 08:53 AM
BriggsTwins's Avatar
BriggsTwins BriggsTwins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh pa-Tallahassee- fl
Posts: 823
Thanks: 14
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Default

that wouldnt be bad, if its right
__________________
two is always better than one! -Twin Coalition-
  #15  
Old 11-09-2009, 11:39 AM
left4dawn's Avatar
left4dawn left4dawn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: graham, Wa
Posts: 53
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this weekend me and my bro-in law worked on the kart, and also went to the little kart shop in tacoma and bought some parts i would need to get the kart done. the total cost was about the same as what it would cost me if i ordered online. we fired up the engine as well, runs great but when we let it idle the engine dies quickly. does anyone know what could be causing this?
__________________
Ahhh!! Flame Off, Flame Off!!!
  #16  
Old 11-09-2009, 01:08 PM
BriggsTwins's Avatar
BriggsTwins BriggsTwins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh pa-Tallahassee- fl
Posts: 823
Thanks: 14
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Default

dirty plug, bad filter or rich carb, or the idle is just too low on the carb
__________________
two is always better than one! -Twin Coalition-
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.