Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-21-2012, 09:39 AM

Default Thoughts on a 32 roadster project

Hi,

first time poster here. First of all great forum, I have been reading up lately - many great builds and great fun to read!

My background is from mtorcycle repair and mods and I have over the years aquired waht is now a pretty decent home machine shop.

Now I want to make a kart for my kids I have this image of a scale 32 Ford roadster in my mind which just won't let go. I am concentrating on the chassis for now. It involves an I-beam front axle, which I believe I could fabricate. It would be hung in radius rods / hair pins and a small leaf spring. Steering would be cowl steering, for which I would need a small steering box.

First question: any one have an idea for a steering box? My only idea so far is on off of an old VW beetle, but even that seems overkill. Anyone?

Next up is the rear axle. It would definately be sprung and I really would love an enclosed axle. I am thinking an axle off of an ATV here. I've been searching Ebay but have come up short. There are enclosed exles out there but all I've found have wires going into the differential indicating they have some sort of function I don't need and many of them have offset differentials. Granted that could be modified but I guess I am still looking for an suitable axle. Also I have really no knowledge about ATV's meaning I don't know which are common and for which the market offers plentiful and cheap parts.

Any input on which axle I could use?

That's it for now

Hopefully I'll start a project thread in the near future

JT
Old 09-21-2012, 10:12 AM

How about this for your steering?
http://www.bmikarts.com/item/Rack--P...nds-05635-4987

Also, about what size will this kart be?

Threw in a few pics I've been keeping....
Attached Thumbnails
R & P.jpg   102_1738.jpg  

102_1740.jpg   bucket01.jpg  

barrow kart.jpg