Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 05:06 PM

Default DuraMax

Hello everyone. This is my first post so sorry if may i appear a little naive i am fairly new to working on gokarts. However, i am not new to working on engines because I race motorcycles and am also an aviation mechanic so rest assured any information given will definitely be used to it's full potential! and will be much appreciated<3

I recently purchased a new duramax 7hp engine

http://www.maxtool.com/us/products/XP7HP.asp

and I'm looking to gain some more power. Now i have read Oscaryu1's very well written "lil 5hp guide" and am now wondering how much of that would be acceptable to try on my new duramax engine?

Another big question i have is should i break the engine in before i modify anything?

Lastly i also kind of just want to know in general.. What would you guys do in my position? lol i know this may seem like a silly question but Im serious. I'm not really SET on anything right now. I'm just looking to have some fun and get my hands dirty doing it. So right now i have a 50lbs offroad kart with a new 7hp engine and am basically looking for the best route to take as far as modifications go.

Any information or ideas you can give of any kind will be of help and again greatly appreciated even if it doesn't answer a question i asked(ie how reliable duramax is, if 7hp is a sufficient enough power source to supply to my kart, resources for more gokart parts or discussions, etc...) Thank you so much in advance! I love you guys
Old 12-14-2011, 05:27 PM

Thanked 2,072 Times in 1,638 Posts

Step One: Figure out what it is you're after. Speed? Jumps? A stump-puller that'll climb a wall?

Why don't you post up a couple of pics, and tell us what you'd like to get out of it.

And- welcome to the forum!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Sprocket For This Useful Post: