Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > Off Topic Fun

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2011, 03:02 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default Can a car battery thats the wrong size do damage?

Hey guys,

Since this forum is the pit of all knowledge in the universe I was wondering if anybody out there knew if I could start getting problems by running a larger car battery than my car was originally intended to have.

I'm going to be eligible for my P's soon and I have my Grandma's Ford Telstar TX5t to fix and drive. I have a couple of batteries for it but they're all stuffed and I have the battery out of my dad's old Fairmont wagon. The wagon battery is a larger type but I can make a modified battery tray for it to fit.

Since the Telstar's engine is sounding a bit funny I'd rather not buy a new battery for it til I know it's gonna keep running. - If it dies I can try and fix the Fairmont's blown head gasket but it seems to be more than just a compression leak so thats a last resort thing.-

Anyway the proper battery is around 300cca and 45rc and the big one is around 500cca and 95rc. Anyone see any problems with excess current or anything?
  #2  
Old 04-25-2011, 04:07 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 60
Thanked 428 Times in 389 Posts
Default

as long as the volts are the same (they will be ) then it doesnt matter

the more CCAs it has the more "power" it has there by the bigger the motor it can turn over

i use a car battery on my buggy purely because in a half flat state the battery will start the engine without effott, we also use truck batterys in our landcruisers as the sea flattens them quickly
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #3  
Old 04-25-2011, 04:29 AM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,489
Thanks: 675
Thanked 2,056 Times in 1,634 Posts
Default

I don't know about any theoretical issues, but I have been using larger than stock batteries for years without problems. I have also run dual batteries in parallel without problems. I think you're okay.
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #4  
Old 04-25-2011, 05:05 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

AWESOME. Thanks guys, thats gonna save me quite a bit of money towards car rego
  #5  
Old 04-25-2011, 01:52 PM
anderkart's Avatar
anderkart anderkart is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix Arizona USA
Posts: 5,306
Thanks: 295
Thanked 760 Times in 671 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fowler View Post
as long as the volts are the same (they will be ) then it doesnt matter

the more CCAs it has the more "power" it has there by the bigger the motor it can turn over

i use a car battery on my buggy purely because in a half flat state the battery will start the engine without effott, we also use truck batterys in our landcruisers as the sea flattens them quickly
Quote:
Originally Posted by toystory_4wd View Post
I don't know about any theoretical issues, but I have been using larger than stock batteries for years without problems. I have also run dual batteries in parallel without problems. I think you're okay.



Yes,
Its actual much better for your starter to have a battery with a higher CCA-rating. As the starter is cranking over the voltage will remain higher and that makes the starter work more efficiently, stay cooler, last longer and crank the engine over faster
__________________
______________________
_____________________________
  #6  
Old 04-25-2011, 05:37 PM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anderkart View Post



Yes,
Its actual much better for your starter to have a battery with a higher CCA-rating. As the starter is cranking over the voltage will remain higher and that makes the starter work more efficiently, stay cooler, last longer and crank the engine over faster
Thats good Thanks guys.....Always knew you were the pit of all knowledge in the universe haha
  #7  
Old 04-25-2011, 05:38 PM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Side note....Anyone have any do's and dont's for making my own battery tray? Where to brace the sides etc?
  #8  
Old 04-25-2011, 06:06 PM
anderkart's Avatar
anderkart anderkart is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix Arizona USA
Posts: 5,306
Thanks: 295
Thanked 760 Times in 671 Posts
Default

What does your battery tray look like? Can ya post a pic of it with the battery removed?

Basically you just need to mod the tray into any type of flat surface with no sharp edges that would cut or damage the battery's case.

Then install the battery using a Universal Battery Hold down kit (like my top pic) to securely hold it in place.

Just make Absolutely sure the battery's + terminal will never, ever touch any metal parts of the car. Be sure to double-check that hood clearance too...


Most all auto part stores sell these kits, or you can make your own DIY hold down system. Just make sure its strong and will truly hold the battery in place while the car is going over big bumps and slaming on the brakes.


You'll find a lot more battery hold down pics/ideas in this google Image link: http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1T4...w=1007&bih=649

You just need to drill a 8mm hole for those long J-bolts to hook into...
If necessary, you can bolt one side of the hold down to the fenderwell (or whatever) like this bottom pic.

__________________
______________________
_____________________________
  #9  
Old 04-25-2011, 09:36 PM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 60
Thanked 428 Times in 389 Posts
Default

a bit of ply wood for the bottom and fenceing wire to hold it down
i garuntee it will never fail

but u had better do it properly
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #10  
Old 04-26-2011, 04:56 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

I'll try and get a pic up soon but no guarantees cause the school term starts tomorrow and I'll probably forget haha...Couldn't really modify the existing one to suit it cause its a pressed piece of place that wouldnt take kindly to bending haha.

Was thinking about just a rectangle of angle to semi snugly hold the base and some j bolts to a plate or make one of the brackets you showed me, doesn't look that hard.

I'll weld it all so it's nice and solid but even if it does ever brake the battery doesnt have far to move. One side is the side of the engine bay and the other is a fuse bracket thats quite solid. Millimetres below is a main chassis rail. So its mostly just to stop it jiggling around and earthing out the +

Hood clearance wont be an issue cause the battery is the same height as the old one. Just a bit fatter haha. So as long as the bracket is the same size as the old one its all good

Thanks for that, I started cutting some angle today but it's slow progress with a blunt hacksaw blade hahaha. So when i get the chance to rip out the grinder it will be done in a jiffy. I'll post some pics when it's done, even if it's just asking for some arc welding tips hahahahaha

Thanks guys
  #11  
Old 04-26-2011, 04:58 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fowler View Post
a bit of ply wood for the bottom and fenceing wire to hold it down
i garuntee it will never fail

but u had better do it properly
Have you actually done that?

Ingenuity at it's best. Reminds me of a guy I saw the other day trimming his edges with an angle grinder taped to a wooden pole hahaha
  #12  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:01 AM
Cam's Avatar
Cam Cam is offline
Nz Petrolhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 488
Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
a bit of ply wood for the bottom and fenceing wire to hold it down
i garuntee it will never fail
Baaa we did that to our paddock car, we jumped it and put the battery through the windscreen

Bungy cord, a little one works really well, and its legal! in nz..
__________________
Cheers, Cam.
  #13  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:08 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

hahaha what happened to the bonnet?
  #14  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:10 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 60
Thanked 428 Times in 389 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman231994 View Post
Have you actually done that?

Ingenuity at it's best. Reminds me of a guy I saw the other day trimming his edges with an angle grinder taped to a wooden pole hahaha
mate u wouldnt want to know want we do with fencing wire

it is the most universale material fullstop

duct tape may as well be toilet paper

yes iv done that to most of our vehicals as the plastic clamps just dont last the vibration
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #15  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:13 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 60
Thanked 428 Times in 389 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman231994 View Post
hahaha what happened to the bonnet?
that was "removed" (rusted out) for better cooling ?

that would heave been the funniest thing to see

im cracking up at the image it creates
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #16  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:31 AM
Cam's Avatar
Cam Cam is offline
Nz Petrolhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 488
Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Yeah bonnet was bashed out majorley by the previous owner so we stripped it and yeah we broke the stock clamp - that one was funny we launched it a few metres in the air and then ran over it!

Then we made a makeshift number 8 wire one like fowler said, and as we came up to the jump it was really steep and that knocked the wire off, and when we launched it it flew backwards, cables and all through the front windscreen of the ford festiva and into my mates lap, sh!t it was funny!

then we gave up for the day because it cracked the dizzy cap as it flew backwards :P
__________________
Cheers, Cam.
  #17  
Old 04-26-2011, 07:18 AM
jman231994's Avatar
jman231994 jman231994 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 709
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

I love how if it hadnt have cracked you would have done it again with a shattered windscreen and battery in your lap hahahahahahaha
  #18  
Old 04-27-2011, 12:25 AM
sideways's Avatar
sideways sideways is offline
Unfinished projects king.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,509
Thanks: 42
Thanked 150 Times in 113 Posts
Default

Haha I can beat wire, I bought a new battery for my paddock basher (a ride on mower battery!), there was no hold down strap thingy so I duct taped it in!

A few weeks later we did a HUGE (about 3 car lengths) jump, the duct tape broke and the battery fell onto the the belts, they chewed a hole in it and sprayed acid everywhere, now pretty much everything under the bonnet it rusty. :/

The current (old) battery is held in with cable ties!

The tail gate is taped closed too.



Gotta love paddock bashers!
  #19  
Old 04-27-2011, 03:29 AM
Cam's Avatar
Cam Cam is offline
Nz Petrolhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 488
Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

haha awesome stuff, my mate had a datty 120y, and the battery slid across into the steel alternator fan, and sprayed acid everywhere haha same story, rust everywhere! :P
__________________
Cheers, Cam.
  #20  
Old 04-27-2011, 08:33 AM
anderkart's Avatar
anderkart anderkart is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix Arizona USA
Posts: 5,306
Thanks: 295
Thanked 760 Times in 671 Posts
Default

When I was young and inexperienced, I ruined several perfectly good car batteries simply because i didn't bother to install a good/effective battery hold down.
__________________
______________________
_____________________________
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.