Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > More Builds

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:12 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default Car audio Help...

Hey guys...
Now Im wanting to get the radio working in my "new to me truck"... The PO had installed a deck and it by all means seems to be correct, powers up and functions work... Just no sound...He said it was new( I know the guy and believe him)
'92 nissan pickup D21 hardbody single cab..

Now I removed the dash panel and looked at the connections.. all seems correct.. so Im guessing the speakers are shot..... fare enough...

Upon looking at the deck it has a number of RCA type connectors labeling to speakers L-R and to amp ect... Its a clarion cz302.
Now I have an amp/sub( just not installed) A Rockford Fosgate prime r600-4d amp and a Kicker 12" with box, but there isnt really any space behind/under the seats for those, so Im not caring about that... But I do want some kind of sound...
I want the new speakers in the lower foot well side panel area( for lack of a term), not in the door(so i'll just leave the OEM ones alone)..

Am I able to just connect with RCA plugged wires to the new set of speakers Im looking to get? Or do I have to wire power/ ground to these aswell???
Looked to see what connectors are out there.. confused...

This is really a new thing for me and I haven't been able to get any info on this for DIY or new automotive audiophiles...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #2  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:38 PM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 776
Thanks: 734
Thanked 402 Times in 312 Posts
Default

The RCA plugs are intended to be plugged into an Amp.
Attached Thumbnails
PSX_20180826_153209.jpg  
  #3  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:54 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

I saw that... There is 2 for front channel L and R...

Am I able to use those and plug/play for 2 speakers?
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #4  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:57 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,766
Thanks: 58
Thanked 782 Times in 540 Posts
Default

No, those will be line level outputs. You would be lucky to power a set of earbuds off those, unfortunately.
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
  #5  
Old 08-26-2018, 02:16 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

anickode- Ok... what does that mean exactly?

So the best way is to just disconnect what is there and check with a known working speaker, and re wire with soldered connections to the harness that is supplied on the back of the deck???

Im sorry this is just a new thing and I barely understand it...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #6  
Old 08-26-2018, 02:47 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

Should have a built in amp. 45watt max (19watt RMS) x 4 channel.
The wiring diagram above shows how to wire the speakers directly from the head unit.
Attached Thumbnails
harness.jpg  
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
  #7  
Old 08-26-2018, 02:53 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

How to test a circuit with out a working speaker... a test light, multi meter??
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #8  
Old 08-26-2018, 03:52 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,766
Thanks: 58
Thanked 782 Times in 540 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckutzy View Post
How to test a circuit with out a working speaker... a test light, multi meter??
You can hook a basic multimeter set to AC voltage to it. Analog works best. You should see the needle bounce around if it's outputting anything.
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
  #9  
Old 08-26-2018, 04:02 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

I have a digital... Will that do??
What about a light?? Will it flicker or just stay lit?...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #10  
Old 08-26-2018, 06:05 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,766
Thanks: 58
Thanked 782 Times in 540 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckutzy View Post
I have a digital... Will that do??
What about a light?? Will it flicker or just stay lit?...
Digital will work too. The numbers should fluctuate. Basically if you get any reading at all, you've got output.
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
  #11  
Old 08-26-2018, 06:41 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

Aight I'll try that...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #12  
Old 08-26-2018, 07:04 PM
Joe-405's Avatar
Joe-405 Joe-405 is offline
2018 Buildoff Winner ! 😎😎
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 625
Thanked 904 Times in 688 Posts
Default

Those wires the speaker attaches to............ just pull the head unit out and wire them direct to a speaker while it’s sitting in your lap. That’s what I used to do at the car audio store when I was installing.

---------- Post added at 08:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

If it donít work then the internal amp is bad in the head unit.
  #13  
Old 08-26-2018, 07:26 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,766
Thanks: 58
Thanked 782 Times in 540 Posts
Default

It doesn't have to be a car speaker either. A small bookshelf speaker, or even a big stereo speaker will work as long as the impedance is greater than 4 ohms.
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
  #14  
Old 08-26-2018, 07:28 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

Ahhh...I'll try that...

Any ideas on a set of speakers... About 4.5-5"... I could see about $100 all together.. Wires and such...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #15  
Old 08-27-2018, 07:19 AM
oledirteh oledirteh is offline
I like turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Union Bridge, Maryland
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

if the truck has a amp, and your still using it, one of the wires will be to power on the amp. otherwise you wont get audio.

other then that im of no use here
  #16  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:20 AM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

I'd say a 3-way speaker (tweeter, mid, and sub) is a good bet.
5.25" is a common size.
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
  #17  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:35 AM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 776
Thanks: 734
Thanked 402 Times in 312 Posts
Default

https://www.crutchfield.com/

You can punch in your vehicle specs and get a good idea of what will work.

Looks like 4x6 or 6Ĺ.

You can test your old speakers with an AA or similar battery.
  #18  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:14 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 812
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

No other amp used.. The deck has an internal amp as far as I can tell..

Bob- these three way speakers you speak of... Are they wired separate or all in one set of wire???

Edit: WoW... NOOBish.... ill say.... So I took a look and yes... they are all in one speaker, with one in/out terminals for the wires....
Sorry guys... I guess it is easier than it looks.....

Ill look over some speakers and see what I can come up with....
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #19  
Old 08-28-2018, 09:03 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

How / Where are these going to be installed? I know you said you plan to put them (somewhere) and leave the factory speakers in place. I just can't picture where they will go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckutzy View Post
I want the new speakers in the lower foot well side panel area( for lack of a term), not in the door(so i'll just leave the OEM ones alone)..
Are you going to cut a hole for them in the kick panel? Or build an enclosure?
If it were me, I'd probably replace the factory speakers with ones of the same size.

Here is a picture of a "kick panel" speaker enclosure.
Attached Thumbnails
kickpanel.jpeg  
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
  #20  
Old 08-28-2018, 09:14 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

Search Nissan Truck kick panel speaker enclosure.
https://www.hifisoundconnection.com/...1541/SFV/30046

It's been two decades since my hobby was car audio. I used to go to the flea market every week to see what was recently stolen and being sold at a discount. LOL

Used to have one 4 channel amp to power two 6x9's and two 6-1/2". And another 1000 (or 1500?) watt amp dedicated for my two 15" subs. I think I only used the head unit to power the 4 tweeters I had (bass clips to prevent the low tones from playing through the tweeters). Crossover, 1 Farad Capacitor, ..... My stereo was worth more than my car.
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.