Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2019, 08:49 AM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Predator 212 Stage 1 - Carb Issue

Hi All,

Got the Stage 1 installed a few nights ago (from OMB). Now, I must've drank too much and I forgot to install the new emulsion tube that came with the kit. So on the 1st ride, I had the smaller .036 jet in and my original emulsion tube. It ran fine w/ no issues.

After researching and realizing that I had forgot to put the new emulsion tube in (not sure what this will accomplish?), I took the old one out and installed the new one....and tried running yesterday. Now, it starts fine, but only runs when the choke is open. If the choke is closed it shuts down within a few seconds.

After further fiddling, I tried swapping jets again. Now I finally got it to where I could close the choke and would run, but if any throttle was applied it would almost sputter completely out.

What am I missing here? I'll attach some pics to show the setup.

Maybe while I was handling those jets/emulsion tube it got some dirt or something in it? Can't think of anything else.

*Note - I did remove the governor yesterday, but I wouldn't think this has anything to do with it?? Seems like a carb issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Stage1.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2019, 11:19 AM
Flyinhillbilly's Avatar
Flyinhillbilly Flyinhillbilly is online now
The great cornholio
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North West Arkansas
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 2,181
Thanked 932 Times in 654 Posts
Default

Check the gasket behind the carb to make sure that it’s oriented properly and make sure the insulator hasn’t cracked or broken. It sounds like a vacuum leak to me.
__________________
You can't drink all day if you don't start in the morning
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2019, 11:55 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Thanks: 614
Thanked 324 Times in 296 Posts
Default

Yup, check for a vacuum leak.
If it was running fine before, I would have left it.
If it doesn't run right even after you find and fix a possible vacuum leak, it would probably be too rich.
__________________
"(Speed Demon)Speedin' on the freeway, gotta get a leadway..." -Michael Jackson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2019, 12:30 PM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Flyn/JT,

I checked the gasket/insulator and they are both fine. This is a brand new engine. Yes it was running fine when I first installed Saturday night, but as I mentioned, I was using the .036 jet with the original emulsion tube.

I guess it's possible a line came loose or something happened when I was moving the engine around on my bench yesterday, during governor removal? I was rotating the engine around several times when I was trying to get that darn governor gear out. lol

Yesterday I took the governor out, then remember that I had not put in the suggested emulsion tube that came with the kit (https://www.ombwarehouse.com/racing-jet-kit.html). So I made sure to change that out.

When I got everything back together and tried running, this is when I noticed the issue.

Where would I start looking for a vaccum leak? Here are a few videos I just took. Sound should help. I've tried swapping jets and emulsion tubes and I get the same effect. I literally have to keep the choke about 1/2 open for it to run correctly. If I close the choke and try to give it gas, it just sputters out.

I'm frustrated as I was doing this for my son, and he hasn't even got to ride this yet .

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qKN...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/12gb...ew?usp=sharing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2019, 12:44 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Thanks: 614
Thanked 324 Times in 296 Posts
Default

It could be that your pilot jet is gunked up. Check that.
__________________
"(Speed Demon)Speedin' on the freeway, gotta get a leadway..." -Michael Jackson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2019, 01:14 PM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

JT,

I will check that as well. Seems unlikely considering a new engine, and it ran completely fine Saturday night?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2019, 01:20 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Thanks: 614
Thanked 324 Times in 296 Posts
Default

Ya never know.
It was made in China, so it could be the ethanol in the gas has eaten away some of the plastic parts or who knows what.
If all else fails, you could try a new carb to make sure that is the problem.
__________________
"(Speed Demon)Speedin' on the freeway, gotta get a leadway..." -Michael Jackson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:47 PM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Flyn/JT,

Well I'm the idiot. LOL. I double checked the install of the jet/emulsion tube, and I had it in INCORRECTLY. LOL. It was upside down. I must've installed it correctly on Saturday night, then last night when I swapped the jet, and I traded for the emulsion tube that came with the kit..........that's when I put it in wrong! No wonder it was running like complete poop! Geeze.

Once I fixed that issue and started it up, it ran great! Son even got to ride it around when he got home from school .
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gibbywmu For This Useful Post:
Flyinhillbilly (10-14-2019), JTSpeedDemon (10-14-2019), landuse (10-15-2019)
  #9  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:50 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Thanks: 614
Thanked 324 Times in 296 Posts
Default

Well I guess ya DID drink too much!
Glad it all worked out!
__________________
"(Speed Demon)Speedin' on the freeway, gotta get a leadway..." -Michael Jackson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2019, 09:12 PM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I did! LOL. Now I just have one other issue to fix. After the engine is nice and warm, it engages w/out any pressing of the gas peddle.......so when my son goes to get off, it starts to take off. Not super slow either....lol.

Do I just need to loosen the throttle cable?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-14-2019, 09:18 PM
Dingocat's Avatar
Dingocat Dingocat is offline
Broke
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 398
Thanks: 33
Thanked 80 Times in 66 Posts
Default

That or idle screw. My friend put my carb back together once and forgot the jet and it somehow ran. Horribly
__________________
Current Manco hoarder
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-14-2019, 10:48 PM
Flyinhillbilly's Avatar
Flyinhillbilly Flyinhillbilly is online now
The great cornholio
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North West Arkansas
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 2,181
Thanked 932 Times in 654 Posts
Default

Glad to hear that you got it figured out
__________________
You can't drink all day if you don't start in the morning
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2019, 12:48 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,354
Thanks: 2,121
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default

I would back the idle screw out a bit to stop it moving on its own
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2019, 06:51 AM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Backing the idle screw out does nothing.....because the throttle lever doesn't move any further back if the screw is backed out. I'll report back after I adjust the throttle cable. I think it may be too tight.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-15-2019, 07:04 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,354
Thanks: 2,121
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibbywmu View Post
Backing the idle screw out does nothing.....because the throttle lever doesn't move any further back if the screw is backed out. I'll report back after I adjust the throttle cable. I think it may be too tight.
The throttle lever isn't supposed to move when you back out the idle screw. The engine just idles slower. The throttle lever has nothing to do with idling.

Try loosen the cable though. It is a good place to start
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2019, 01:36 PM
gibbywmu gibbywmu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I'm talking about the actual butterfly...not the throttle lever. Sorry, my terminology was off there. I gave the throttle cable some slack, then let the engine warm up. I think I've got it to where it doesn't start to "creep" at idle. Now I'll have to wait and see how easy the engine is to start up when its cold. Seemed alot harder than normal today to get it going.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.