Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2019, 03:57 PM
Porter92lbs Porter92lbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Brandon, Fl.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Torque converter

just bought a Murray Kilowatt w/ a 13hp honda on back. but the guy had a 6.5hp torque converter on it. can someone give me a run down on why there are different sizes for the higher HP motors. how quick do i need to change it out, and do i need to change the entire thing? and what brand/type is a good one? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2019, 04:03 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,530
Thanks: 625
Thanked 337 Times in 307 Posts
Default


If it was attached to the engine and working, you have a 30 series torque converter with a 1" bore driver most likely.
Higher grade TCs are just generally to avoid excessive wear on the internal parts and at really high power levels, catastrophic failure. But with 13 HP, I think the 30 series will do. 40 series are much more expensive anyway.
If it works, USE IT!
Let's see some pics of the kart, and/or any concerns you might have.
__________________
King of Controversy
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JTSpeedDemon For This Useful Post:
Porter92lbs (10-04-2019)
  #3  
Old 09-23-2019, 05:35 PM
Hellion's Avatar
Hellion Hellion is offline
Disc brakes'r for cowards
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 4,764
Thanks: 1,711
Thanked 1,387 Times in 1,133 Posts
Default

Why are you posting tech questions in the Introductions forum?

Hardly anyone will see it here because most of the forum traffic is focused on, um, Go Karts.
You're doing yourself a disservice.
__________________
"I'm just here for the gasoline"
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hellion For This Useful Post:
Porter92lbs (10-04-2019)
  #4  
Old 09-23-2019, 09:22 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,258
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,322 Times in 3,250 Posts
Default

Welcome Porter!

No problem you posting the question in the wrong forum..
I just move it where it belongs

The reason for different size TCs is fairly simple..
the more power you through at them, the beefier they need to be.
And for a 3.5hp mini bike you wouldn't want to carry the weight of a Full scale salsbury TC
capable of handling upwards of 100 horses costing easily upwards of 700 dollars.
eating away most if not all the engine power..

and while those are the extremes..
it does make sense to differentiate task and poewr in a much finer grain
to get the best possible TC for the lowest possible price with the lightest weight.

So yeah, a series 30 is usually meant for up to 8hp engines.
(albeit some earlier manuals claim 13hp max.. )
The reason you want a series 40 is the wider and taller belt mostly,
the more contact surface the belt has, the more reliable it can transmit power
and the more power it takes to get the system moving... (hence the size differences again)

Series 40 clones on ebay luckily aren't too expensive these days anymore..
I think they're even cheaper than the series 30 clones were just a few years ago.
So not too much of an issue.

BUT I'd love to see a Pic of your TC first..
since chances are you had a series 20 (which is actually a KART part, whereas according to Jim from maxtorque series 30s are intentionally built for mini bikes)
instead of a series 30, and then a series 40 is a great alternative anyways,
reverting back to original setup mostly.

Or you might have a series 40 installed already that has been sleeved to fit a smaller 3/4" shaft enigne before..
in which case you do not need to swap anything.. just clean/lube and go

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsid For This Useful Post:
Porter92lbs (10-04-2019)
  #5  
Old 10-04-2019, 04:36 PM
Porter92lbs Porter92lbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Brandon, Fl.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry Fellas, having problems figuring out how to post, **** phone is so small. I need to do this all on my laptop. I'm on my work computer now. gonna post some pics of the karts. I have 3.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2019, 03:58 PM
Porter92lbs Porter92lbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Brandon, Fl.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I posted some kart pics
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2019, 04:24 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,530
Thanks: 625
Thanked 337 Times in 307 Posts
Default

Didn't work.
__________________
King of Controversy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2019, 06:43 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,258
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,322 Times in 3,250 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTSpeedDemon View Post
Didn't work.
LOOOL.. yes it did..
I fell for that the last time.. now I remembered to check his albums

http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/album.php?albumid=1319

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsid For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (10-11-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 AM.