Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Using Tools and Welding

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2018, 04:20 PM
Texan's Avatar
Texan Texan is offline
Senor Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Deep In The Heart of Texas
Posts: 427
Thanks: 168
Thanked 215 Times in 167 Posts
Default Harbor Freight Tail Gator Generator 63204

Got the Tail Gator generator from Harbor Freight last week. With coupon, came out to like $96. Used it this past weekend for the back of the property with no power for a small TV, string of lights and radio for a party. It worked fine. Got about 6 hours run time to one gallon of gas out of it.

Starts easy and is not too terribly load, nothing a long extension cord and turning up the radio couldn't take care of.

I measured output voltage, and was getting about 148VAC. I know generators are not considered “clean” power. Anybody got any advice or experience (good or bad) with these little generators? Any cheap gadgets to protect electronics from the “dirty” power? (Somebody wanted to charge their phone on it, told them do it at your own risk, they changed their mind LOL)

Click image for larger version

Name:	20180328_194532.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	96050
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180328_194553.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	221.3 KB
ID:	96051
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180328_194714.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	181.7 KB
ID:	96052
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180328_195202.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	150.9 KB
ID:	96053


PS: Wonder if I adjust the spark plug gap to the recommendation, maybe it will run even better? Pulled the plug before starting it, and it is at .016” gap.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20180328_194037.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	220.2 KB
ID:	96054
  #2  
Old 04-02-2018, 05:27 PM
Whitetrashrocker's Avatar
Whitetrashrocker Whitetrashrocker is offline
Inmate #952016
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 303
Thanked 806 Times in 625 Posts
Default

Perhaps one of those RV voltage regulator/surge protector. But they run about the same price as you paid for the genny.
__________________
Think for yourself, Question authority.
  #3  
Old 04-02-2018, 05:49 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,796
Thanks: 59
Thanked 800 Times in 555 Posts
Default

Did you check the voltage with a load on it? It is possible that even a few watts of load is sufficient to bring the voltage into normal range, as portable generators do not typically use any active vltage regulation.
  #4  
Old 04-03-2018, 12:58 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,365
Thanks: 2,125
Thanked 3,463 Times in 2,824 Posts
Default

I have a 950W Ryobi generator that I think is exactly the same as yours but just branded differently. It works like a charm. I can run my TV, satellite decoder, loads of energy saver lights as well as my ADSL (internet)

I would recommend it to anyone
Attached Thumbnails
Generator-Ryobi-950w-20140502045207.jpg   456460-515x515.jpg  

The Following User Says Thank You to landuse For This Useful Post:
Texan (04-03-2018)
  #5  
Old 04-03-2018, 07:59 AM
Texan's Avatar
Texan Texan is offline
Senor Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Deep In The Heart of Texas
Posts: 427
Thanks: 168
Thanked 215 Times in 167 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anickode View Post
Did you check the voltage with a load on it? It is possible that even a few watts of load is sufficient to bring the voltage into normal range, as portable generators do not typically use any active vltage regulation.
Checked it with no load. Next time I start it up I will check it with a couple of things running. Anything I plugged in it worked fine, just seemed like a little too much volts, but I too figured it would drop with a load.

Where I work, we have 24VDC and 120/220VAC products, on our wire diagrams we specify +/-10% voltage range. So at 120VAC our products should be ok up to 132VAC.

An engineer here has us test the products at the low range, so 120V product would be tested with 108V. I believe he said it was more abusive.
  #6  
Old 04-03-2018, 09:12 AM
supermanotorious's Avatar
supermanotorious supermanotorious is offline
Winchmaster 5000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New River, AZ
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 212
Thanked 440 Times in 327 Posts
Default

try a line conditioner, I like the ones Monster Power make
__________________
www.phoenixwinch.com
www.facebook.com/wakeskatewinches www.youtube.com/user/phoenixwinch
  #7  
Old 04-03-2018, 10:01 AM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,796
Thanks: 59
Thanked 800 Times in 555 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texan View Post
Checked it with no load. Next time I start it up I will check it with a couple of things running. Anything I plugged in it worked fine, just seemed like a little too much volts, but I too figured it would drop with a load.

Where I work, we have 24VDC and 120/220VAC products, on our wire diagrams we specify +/-10% voltage range. So at 120VAC our products should be ok up to 132VAC.

An engineer here has us test the products at the low range, so 120V product would be tested with 108V. I believe he said it was more abusive.
Low voltage is more abusive for things like motors because the amp draw increases to produce the same amount of power, which will frequently be enough to overheat the motor.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.