Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Using Tools and Welding

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2017, 10:15 AM
Kentucky Boy's Avatar
Kentucky Boy Kentucky Boy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 592
Thanks: 192
Thanked 193 Times in 148 Posts
Default Need a Rectifier for HF 90a Wire Welder

I'm going to mod my HF 90a welder. It's the brand new black one. Ive researched a lot on this. My question is will this rectifier be ok or do I need a higher amp one like 200amps? Single phase ok? Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  
  #2  
Old 03-15-2017, 10:59 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,244
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,310 Times in 3,243 Posts
Default

get a 200Amp rectifier.

read this thread to see a 100Amp rect failing

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
The Following User Says Thank You to itsid For This Useful Post:
Kentucky Boy (03-15-2017)
  #3  
Old 03-15-2017, 11:56 AM
Kentucky Boy's Avatar
Kentucky Boy Kentucky Boy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 592
Thanks: 192
Thanked 193 Times in 148 Posts
Default

I can't find one with a heatsink.
  #4  
Old 03-15-2017, 12:08 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,394
Thanks: 818
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,461 Posts
Default

You'll have to mount it to one...
Alot of time at scrapyards they'll have scrap aluminum heat sinks from all sorts of machines...
Sometimes a short piece of U channel will do..
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #5  
Old 03-15-2017, 12:12 PM
Kentucky Boy's Avatar
Kentucky Boy Kentucky Boy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 592
Thanks: 192
Thanked 193 Times in 148 Posts
Default

Cool. Thanks for the help guys. Now to track down the 100,000uf cap.

I ordered a 200amp rectifier and this capacitor.
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  

Last edited by itsid; 10-04-2018 at 07:52 PM.
  #6  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:49 AM
supermanotorious's Avatar
supermanotorious supermanotorious is offline
Winchmaster 5000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New River, AZ
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 212
Thanked 440 Times in 327 Posts
Default

good luck!
__________________
www.phoenixwinch.com
www.facebook.com/wakeskatewinches www.youtube.com/user/phoenixwinch
  #7  
Old 03-20-2017, 02:00 AM
Rail rider's Avatar
Rail rider Rail rider is offline
Inmate # 3192016
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Planet earth ( the flat one)
Posts: 799
Thanks: 452
Thanked 297 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Well, Its nice to see you rectified that situation...
__________________
I CAN VOID ITS WARRANTY IN UNDER 5 MINUTES
  #8  
Old 06-01-2017, 05:52 PM
supermanotorious's Avatar
supermanotorious supermanotorious is offline
Winchmaster 5000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New River, AZ
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 212
Thanked 440 Times in 327 Posts
Default

since this is our most recent conversation regarding rectifiers, I figgered I'd show you my latest conversion, decided to mount on the floor, more room to breath there, I did have to extend the wire going to to the torch but that was easy

I find it's easiest to remove the circuit board while you do this
Attached Thumbnails
006.jpg   007.jpg  

__________________
www.phoenixwinch.com
www.facebook.com/wakeskatewinches www.youtube.com/user/phoenixwinch
The Following User Says Thank You to supermanotorious For This Useful Post:
Kentucky Boy (09-20-2017)
  #9  
Old 08-07-2017, 11:31 AM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

I just ordered a 150 amp 1600V three phase bridge diode rectifier. It was like $13 shipped.
I think when used for single phsase, it is more like a 100 amp, but I don't know for sure. Wish I read this thread before clicking buy it now.

I was about to spring for the 50v 100,000 uF Cap ($45 with shipping, IIRC), but was reading how some people say that an inductor would be better than a cap.

I suppose both would be best. People seem to be making their own inductor Coils.

Anybody ever try this conversion with an added inductor coil?
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
  #10  
Old 08-07-2017, 03:42 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,796
Thanks: 59
Thanked 800 Times in 555 Posts
Default

Never figured it was worth buying a $100 machine and throwing $100 in parts at it to still have a mediocre machine at best.

Not when $179 will get you a machine that's got twice the power, DC output, and is gas-ready out of the box. (HF mig 170) I sprung for a Harbor Freight mig 180 a while back, mostly to have an el-cheapo machine that I can throw in my truck, and to a lesser extent, compare it against my blue machines. I ended up adding a cap, and replacing the factory stinger with a 10 footer from HTP, but it's definitely worth the money. It's no millermatic, but it's light years ahead of the flux core buzz box in every aspect.

When doing inductors and capacitors, you must design everything correctly, as you can get some weird electronic results as a result of the inductance/capacitance interaction.
The Following User Says Thank You to anickode For This Useful Post:
bob58o (08-07-2017)
  #11  
Old 08-07-2017, 04:32 PM
Goat Goat is offline
Retired for the grandkids
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Northern illinois
Posts: 177
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default

An Eastwood mig 135 is not much more money. Love mine so far.
  #12  
Old 08-07-2017, 11:44 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

But I already have the 90 amp flux core. I probably won't get another machine for some time.
I already upgraded the grounding clamp and ordered the rectifier.

https://www.harborfreight.com/400-am...amp-66708.html

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150A-Amp-100...53.m2749.l2649

So forget about what I have spent already, and unless it costs $50 I'm not really interested in a different machine.

Do you think it will be worth it to spend $53 to add the capacitor?
I wasn't sure if you were saying the bigger machine with the capacitor was worth it, or if adding the capacitor to mine would be worth it.

50V 0.1F Capacitor ($44 shipped)
http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSea...77441950861743

(10) 8 gauge gold plated Ring Terminals ($7 shipped) <-Going to need some anyway right?)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/8-Gauge-Gold...EAAOSwnHZYSxMX

2 ft 8 gauge stranded copper wire ($1.50)
HomeDepot ($0.59 / ft)
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwire...FcYcPwodINsFBw


I think I got it on sale for $90, so altogether I'd be right around $180.
I see what you mean about getting a better welder to begin with, but since that is no longer an option for me....


Should I buy the Capacitor?
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.