Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:40 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v 1000 go kart upgrade to 1800w

I have a 48v1000w buggy go kart I have bought the 1800w motor and need to buy the computer to go with it mine is a 3 speed key switch and I see online there computers come with 2 speed is there another computer out there??? Or is there only a wire bypass but I'm sure America they sell the same buggy go kart with a 1800 3 speed any information would be so grateful its for my daughter and wanna get it upgraded asap thankyou
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2019, 12:26 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

Controller, not Computer!

And three speed vs two speed isn't that much of a difference really,
since both variants are as quick
(one can reduce max speed in two, the other in just one step)
Since I believe the setting was never at "slowest" you'd be fine with a two speed controller.

Anyways.. to be sure, show us the motor you bought (the label is most important)
and we might be able to dig up the controller that'd work best for you
(with any luck even one with a three position speed limiter)

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsid For This Useful Post:
Functional Artist (04-07-2019)
  #3  
Old 10-13-2019, 06:12 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v1800w wiring or somthing issue

Hi all back again after I got a new computer and motor thinking that the 2 was broken and it's till not working I have checked
48v and fully charged
Ebike controller tester tested pedal responds to tester light comes on as bright as you press it so didn't feel the need to replace it same with battery as it has 48v
Bin through all connections to see if there's a short but can't see anything and have spent hours double checking everything and I just hope someone can tell me somthing hopefully ? Can you bypass the pedal with jumper wires
Or volt check on foot pedal I'm just guessing and I've checked everything it can be the only thing I haven't replaced is the battery and the pedal but checking them they say there fine please any ideas thrown out there will be worth it as I've onistly tried everything I did have it working once put it back together and somthing happened since then hasn't worked we can get the motor to move a lil bit but not properly and will stop in few secs and not work again thankyou
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:59 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

I think you are talking about this projeect, right?

thus merged!

Post pics of what parts you are dealing with exactly..
I think you might have missed something important..

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2019, 02:06 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v 1800w go kart

thanks for your help Sid I uploaded some pics I have switched the 3 phase wires around but nothing
Attached Thumbnails
20191014_181826.jpg   20191014_180644.jpg  

20191014_180521.jpg   20191014_180212.jpg  

20191014_180133.jpg   20191014_193630.jpg  

20191014_182106.jpg   20191014_181102.jpg  

20191014_181051.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2019, 05:22 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

yeah and the important part still missing..
what motor, what controller (model, specs etc...)

Since frankly I have the suspicion you tried to fire up a 1800W motor with a 1000W Controller,
thus burned the Mosfets of said controller (now essentially a paperweight)

And what are the paired wires in the HE sensor connector?
since when there are two seonsors per coil(set)?

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2019, 06:44 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the reply did I have uploaded the pics of motor and controller as for the sensor wire not to sure what you mean by that ?
Attached Thumbnails
20191015_003617.jpg   20191015_003606.jpg  

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tony86 For This Useful Post:
itsid (10-14-2019)
  #8  
Old 10-14-2019, 06:45 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Sorry there were the inverted gear ones for forward and reverse yellow black forward grey and black backwards
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2019, 10:50 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

Have you minimum wired that thing already?
(ie: battery, motor phases, HE sensor, on/off switch, throttle and NOTHING else)
it's usually the 'testconfig' (should run slow but should run)
frankly it should run (albeit somewhat miserably) without the HE sensor attached at all..

Next up would be brake
(might be reversed.. i.e. if plug isn't populated it must be shortened)
then speed/governor switch or respectively forward/reverse switch.

I need to check the images with a set of fresh eyes tomorrow
can't see no sore thumb sticking out at least
(it's 5:50 am here and I'm getting a bit tired I admit)

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-15-2019, 08:40 AM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks again sid I had a look at the brake it wasn't connected as I didn't think it was essential but the wires did need swapping around and has 5 volts and kills power when brake pressed but still nothing

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:03 AM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Forward and reverse have been swapped around still nothing I feel like there's a short there because sometimes it moves a lil bit more but could be a guess I have 5 volts going through it thankyou
Tony

---------- Post added at 07:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:01 AM ----------

I bypassed on and off switch so defo not that worked fine
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:40 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,997
Thanks: 768
Thanked 753 Times in 598 Posts
Default

I can see that you have the (3) "big" power wires "matched up" (going to the motor)
...but, I can't tell for sure (from the pic below) if the (5) "small" sensor wires are matched up?
(they must be)

Here is a diagram for this motor/controller
...& also some of the switches needed for this application.

* Have you read thru this thread?

http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=37537
Attached Thumbnails
SAM_4376.jpg   SAM_4380.jpg  

Attached Images
 
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Functional Artist For This Useful Post:
Tony86 (10-21-2019)
  #13  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:36 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

yeah .. couldn't tell either.. green/blue might have been swapped,
but that should only reverse direction really...

what trips me off are the additional red[orange?] and black wire in the pic..
they seem to go to the HES connector so 7 wires on a 5pin plug.

Have you shortened the brake connector yet to see if it's made for an NC-Switch instead of an NO switch?
if not, do that first please...

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-21-2019, 02:01 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks Sid and functional artist yes all connected and checked for volts and they all have going through them and they are all matching, the brake and on and off switch have been jumpered and no difference
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2019, 06:39 AM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v1800w

Any other ideas guys gonna have another go today swap motors around etc so ****ed off with it can't take it to no one as no one touches it and just a pile of wasted money need a miracle this has been going on for to long
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:27 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

No worries..
we'll talk you through this.

Do us and yourself a favour and disconenct ALL of it ..
completely remove the controller from the batteries switches and the motor.
Once done..
please add a photo with all connectors spread out sitting on a desk or the floor,
so we have a picture we can easily point on a single connector/wire without any background mess.

If you have any controller manual that came with it, attach it to your next post as well,
there are some minor differences from manufacturer to manufacturer..
In case you don't
just number the connectors in he pic and tell us what the sticker on each one says
(NOT what you read it as.. just what it says on the sticker... when in doubt post pics of each)

A fresh start is the quickest way to solve that mistery.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-25-2019, 06:45 AM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v 1800w

I have it all on the table I have noticed no power going to braking have no volts, I'm sure it should say 5 volts ? Going to check the other controller and motor see what they say, also my pedal has the voltage going through but when press the pedal I'm not having any voltage getting used through the pedal I thought it should loose volts when pressing pedal? But I also connected it to ebike testing computer and the light comes on with as hard as you press it So maybe in testing the pedal rong ???
Attached Thumbnails
20191024_233332.jpg   20191024_233418.jpg  

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-25-2019, 07:17 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,220
Thanks: 1,396
Thanked 4,300 Times in 3,234 Posts
Default

Sorry,
but how was I vague about my request
Quote:
please add a photo with all connectors spread out sitting on a desk or the floor,
so we have a picture we can easily point on a single connector/wire without any background mess.
one connector completely obscured by one other,
everything still connected for some reason
throttle connection taped to be undiagnosable
wires flying (thanks to them still being connected to stuff)
from left to right and front to back

When I now say check the third red wire from above
what would you do?

See?

But let's start with what makes me feel uncomfortable the most in that pic..
what's up with the insulationtaped yellow/black(brown?..can't tell)
And how is the throttle connected, why is the grey wire cut and taped away
[supposed to be on the throttle connector IIRC]?

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-25-2019, 08:00 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,997
Thanks: 768
Thanked 753 Times in 598 Posts
Default

Please
...disconnect everything
…spread all of the connectors out separately
...number them
…& then list, by number, what is labeled on each connector

Kinda like in the pic below

* do this for each component
...motor
...controller
...throttle
...etc.
Attached Images
 
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-26-2019, 03:23 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 48v 1800w

If you see my paper in images I have checked all voltage aswell I hope that's enough I just don't get it anymore all volts going through not an expert with the multimeter maybe there's some extra checks ? There's no power getting drawn from the battery when pedal getting used maybe? I I'm going to do the same checks on the other controller and motor but fear they will be the same results as the last will do another pieace of papper like the last hope that was helpfull thankyou
Attached Thumbnails
20191026_210543.jpg   20191026_190850.jpg  

20191026_183449.jpg   20191026_190705.jpg  

20191026_182150.jpg   Screenshot_20191026-183221_eBay.jpg  

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.