Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > Off Topic Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2019, 05:44 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,958
Thanks: 750
Thanked 740 Times in 586 Posts
Default DIYGK site "freezing up"

Many times lately, when I try to attach a pic, or now even click on a link the site freezes up.

I don't think it's my computer because, I can go to other sites & everything seems to work fine.

I tryed to add some pics to a post in the Damien thread (stuck)
& another time when I clicked on a youtube link (stuck again)

Could someone please look into this?

Thanks, Kevin
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2019, 06:03 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,106
Thanks: 1,384
Thanked 4,263 Times in 3,202 Posts
Default

on my side of the planet the DIYGK works well ..
no lags, no freezes ... nothing I can complain about...

I bet I have the oldest slowest computer you can imagine
[my trustworthy internetreader is a nearly 20years old winxp box]
and I'm halfway across the globe (from the webserver that carries DIYGK)

Sorry, to me that reads the problem is on your side of internetcable

Chances are it was an ISP hiccup.. someone sat on the internettube and didn't let
the data flow ..
test a few times (different time of day ideall on two consecutive days)
maybe crosscheck with another computer at home (daughters laptop?) or with your phone,
maybe en- and disabled wifi to see if it's making any difference.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2019, 06:50 AM
J.S.@SMS's Avatar
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is offline
Here 8am-? Mon-Fri
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 496
Thanks: 55
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

No problems from Florida. I'm running a 4 year old HP Pavilion with a amd a8 processor (it's on a sticker, only reason I know). Try using a network speed tester.
__________________
If a picture is worth a thousand words, then how about a video?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2019, 06:50 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,958
Thanks: 750
Thanked 740 Times in 586 Posts
Default

Hmmmmmmmmm
...seems to work now

I'll let ya know if it happens again.
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:32 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,219
Thanks: 561
Thanked 296 Times in 269 Posts
Default

Yeah I was gonna say that it was probably your computer. I'm running an old Dell Latitude D620 laptop, and it runs fine. Ya might've had a bad internet connection. *shrug*
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:04 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,761
Thanks: 593
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Seems to be working just fine on my phone (both Tapatalk and through Chrome). I haven't had any issues with the site in a few months.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:15 AM
Budget GoKart's Avatar
Budget GoKart Budget GoKart is offline
Aka a kenbar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: indiana
Posts: 904
Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 82 Posts
Default

my android freezes, but just when im typing. right now im using a school laptop and its fine.
__________________
Certified Yerfdog 3202-3203 expert.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2019, 10:10 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 877
Thanks: 13
Thanked 248 Times in 211 Posts
Default

I have a Dingo 286 go kart and a 286 computer and both load this site just as quickly....

Well all my machines load this site just fine, including my ancient blackberry.
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:29 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,761
Thanks: 593
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Maybe try rebooting the old modem and router? Maybe clear the site cache as well.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2019, 10:31 PM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 877
Thanks: 13
Thanked 248 Times in 211 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
Maybe try rebooting the old modem and router? Maybe clear the site cache as well.
Spray some brake clean in there, that should free everything up...oh wait wrong device
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2019, 05:56 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,761
Thanks: 593
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpdingo View Post
Spray some brake clean in there, that should free everything up...oh wait wrong device
We've done similar stupid stuff at work to clean wire connectors and brake cleaner (Hexane) was one of those things used...highly not recommended.

Any luck with getting the site to work properly?
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2019, 08:25 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 330
Thanks: 70
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Maybe wd40 and some globs of JBWeld so that when it’s fixed it states that way and is hard to undo
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-13-2019, 07:20 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 1,958
Thanks: 750
Thanked 740 Times in 586 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
We've done similar stupid stuff at work to clean wire connectors and brake cleaner (Hexane) was one of those things used...highly not recommended.

Any luck with getting the site to work properly?
Squirtin' any liquid into a computer does NOT sound like a good idea.

The "freezing up" comes & goes, sometimes it's quick (20-30 seconds)
...& other times it "freezes up" (30 min.+)

I was thinkin' maybe, my "network" does those "slow down" things? (during heavy traffic times)
or
...hackers are (somehow) usin' some of my computin' capacity? (from time to time)
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:21 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 877
Thanks: 13
Thanked 248 Times in 211 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Functional Artist View Post
Squirtin' any liquid into a computer does NOT sound like a good idea.

The "freezing up" comes & goes, sometimes it's quick (20-30 seconds)
...& other times it "freezes up" (30 min.+)

I was thinkin' maybe, my "network" does those "slow down" things? (during heavy traffic times)
or
...hackers are (somehow) usin' some of my computin' capacity? (from time to time)

You can always start with speedtest.net!
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-13-2019, 09:22 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,761
Thanks: 593
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Could just be your ISP throttling your speeds on you.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:42 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,355
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

Since were talking about it.....
What about electrical contact cleaner???..


Oh ya, speed is good overyonder here in Canada....
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.