Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:37 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default pretty bad clone problems

okay so i am having some real bad problems with my clone.

it doesnt start unless i hold it WOT.

it kicks back at me SOMETIMES and makes muffled sucking noises.

it only runs on choke (and only WOT).

i used fresh gas, new valvoline oil, home made header with briggs muffler on it, disconnected the oil sensor, and removed governor

any ideas?

(im not using the filter in this pic because the opening is too small for nn adapter)

  #2  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:47 PM
devino246's Avatar
devino246 devino246 is offline
Official DIYGK Chem Nerd
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 3,856
Thanks: 270
Thanked 283 Times in 244 Posts
Default

Did you replace the gaskets?
__________________
ASE Certified
  #3  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:50 PM
r_chez_08's Avatar
r_chez_08 r_chez_08 is offline
Should be in the shop...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,827
Thanks: 182
Thanked 313 Times in 308 Posts
Default

how long have you had it? could you take it back? could be an air problem though, hence the choke. try spraying carb cleaner around the connections between motor and carb and see if it revs up more.
__________________
My process of thought:
Anyone can drive a fast car, few can drive a car fast.
  #4  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:55 PM
sideways's Avatar
sideways sideways is offline
Unfinished projects king.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,501
Thanks: 50
Thanked 163 Times in 115 Posts
Default

Get an air filter and replace the inlet gaskets with new ones. Check the flywheel key too.

Thanks

Hayden
  #5  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:56 PM
devino246's Avatar
devino246 devino246 is offline
Official DIYGK Chem Nerd
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 3,856
Thanks: 270
Thanked 283 Times in 244 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r_chez_08 View Post
how long have you had it? could you take it back? could be an air problem though, hence the choke. try spraying carb cleaner around the connections between motor and carb and see if it revs up more.
Hes modded it, they wont take it back.

I had a similar problem with my clone. I had cut new gaskets, but the ID of the gasket on the output side of the carb was a little too big, and didnt seal between the intake and vent passage. Id be willing to bet you need new intake gaskets.
__________________
ASE Certified
  #6  
Old 01-25-2011, 04:02 PM
r_chez_08's Avatar
r_chez_08 r_chez_08 is offline
Should be in the shop...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,827
Thanks: 182
Thanked 313 Times in 308 Posts
Default

cant you make some from card board?
also, i have mounted up a carb with no gasket before and it ran fine.
__________________
My process of thought:
Anyone can drive a fast car, few can drive a car fast.
  #7  
Old 01-25-2011, 04:02 PM
sideways's Avatar
sideways sideways is offline
Unfinished projects king.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,501
Thanks: 50
Thanked 163 Times in 115 Posts
Default

One more thing, that little kill switch you've got. Move it. If everything comes to a stop very suddenly it's going to rip you nuts out.

Just saying.

Thanks

Hayden
  #8  
Old 01-25-2011, 04:05 PM
devino246's Avatar
devino246 devino246 is offline
Official DIYGK Chem Nerd
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 3,856
Thanks: 270
Thanked 283 Times in 244 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r_chez_08 View Post
cant you make some from card board?
also, i have mounted up a carb with no gasket before and it ran fine.
If you didnt put gaskets on a clone, you wouldnt be able to tighten down all the intake stuff.

Just buy a sheet of gasket material, its like $5 at Autozone. Heres what I used:

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/acc...ier=67683_0_0_
__________________
ASE Certified
  #9  
Old 01-25-2011, 04:17 PM
r_chez_08's Avatar
r_chez_08 r_chez_08 is offline
Should be in the shop...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,827
Thanks: 182
Thanked 313 Times in 308 Posts
Default

it was on my g100 when i tested it with a clone carb. it tightened up fine.
__________________
My process of thought:
Anyone can drive a fast car, few can drive a car fast.
  #10  
Old 01-25-2011, 05:25 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,200 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

From a different angle-

Did your camshaft come out during the surgery? Any chance you mis-timed it during reinstallation?
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #11  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:03 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

the cam shaft did fall out during surgery. i lined up the dots on the gears.

this engine is BRAND new.

if i really have to, i can ask my friend for his throttle linkage parts (he didnt cut them up) and get this engine box stock again. then i can get a new one, and keep it mostly stock, probably just an exhaust mod.

so i totally regret removing the governor... it ran perfect before and now it runs like crap.
  #12  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:26 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,200 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

Maybe so, but that's not because of the missing governor. Obviously, something else got fouled up. I hate to say it, but go over everything again.
This really does sound like a timing thing to me, and since the ignition timing can't change...
If the cam fell out, make sure the lifters, pushrods, and rockers are all how they should be.
Explain the sucking noise thing?
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #13  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:32 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

i was just thinking... hmm maybe i am totally overlooking something stupid...

so i checked the spark plug. i remember this isnt the one it came with. it was in my briggs flathead that died im pretty sure.

its pitch black. might be it... and the gap is tiny.

oh well ill throw the old one back in and clean it while im at it and see if that makes any difference.

  #14  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:33 PM
DustinWolfe DustinWolfe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 204
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

did you drill the jet out?
  #15  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:34 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinWolfe View Post
did you drill the jet out?
yeah, and too much. so i had to buy a new one.

THAT might be the cause of my bad plug... it ran super rich for a while.
  #16  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:36 PM
DustinWolfe DustinWolfe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 204
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

yea id say it probably is. i found that drilling jets isnt worth it. im sure someone is gonna flame that but you dont get the accuracy that you do when you just buy new ones. besides i got my jet kit for like 7 bucks. cheaper than a numberd drill bit set. EDIT: i did this once and the way i fixed it was to cleanup the valve pocket for the intake (port not polish) then bored and polished the carb bore a little. it didnt fix it completely but it did help. depends on how big you drilled the jet. i went up to i think 19mm(but be careful because the carb walls are very thin afterwards).
  #17  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:36 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,200 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

Right. Well, toss in a new plug gapped to 0.030, and let us know...
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #18  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:38 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,200 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinWolfe View Post
yea id say it probably is. i found that drilling jets isnt worth it. im sure someone is gonna flame that but you dont get the accuracy that you do when you just buy new ones. besides i got my jet kit for like 7 bucks. cheaper than a numberd drill bit set
There's ups and downs to that. For those of us that already have the bits, well... You know.

For your average guy, proper jets are probably the way to go. I just think it would suck to have to buy a whole whack of 'em, find the right one, then never need the rest again.
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #19  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:43 PM
DustinWolfe DustinWolfe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 204
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

honestly i bought the kit for my 4 wheeler a few years ago and they have for the most part worked on everything else(except that clone carb i was talking about)
  #20  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:45 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,200 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

I agree, and it certainly wouldn't hurt to have a spare or two on hand if you make any changes...


...or overdrill one...

sorry.
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.