Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:24 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

so having tenstion on that spring holds the govner wide open to make the engine start? if so is there anyway i could keep the tension on that spring without the arm?
  #22  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:29 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

so putting tenstion on the spring helps keep the govner wide to have the engine start instead of backfire? is there anyway to put tension on that spring without the govner arm?
  #23  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:31 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

so having tension on that spring helps keep the govner open to start the engine? is there anyway to keep the tension but without the arm?
  #24  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:37 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Without the governor arm, there is nothing hooked to the throttle on the carb. The stock throttle mechanism is only designed to work with the governor. In fact you can think of the governor as the throttle (stock only). It is what determines engine rpm. The way you change the rpm/ change throttle is changing part of the governor (specifically the spring tension). Hopefully this is a good explanation of governed engines.

Also, the throttle position should not matter when starting. Choke matters far more than that along with the idle screw. My throttle is closed when I pull start it and it works fine. I hope this also helps.
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
The Following User Says Thank You to DCProductions For This Useful Post:
kendelrk (02-19-2011)
  #25  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:44 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

well what happened to me is, theres an arm, that pulls a tention spring that pulls a second arm to push to govner , i took off the arm that puts tenstion on the spring, and now whenever i pull it to start it (which is described earlier is like a system, 5 pulls to start cold, 2-3 to start when its hot) well on the pull for it to start it backfires instead of starts,
  #26  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:52 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quick question: You said you had an aftermarket air filter, but did you also re-jet the carb?

The only other problems I could think of are...
-Timing (like toystory said)(but you said you didn't mess with it so probably not)
-Valve lash (you probably have not messed with that either but no harm in checking)
-Dirty carb (I don't know how old your engine is but cleaning a carb is normally the most effective was of solving problems)

Are you planning on keeping the governor?
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
  #27  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:54 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

What I've been getting at here- maybe not very successfully- is that in the factory, governed configuration, the throttle arm does absolutely nothing except alter spring tension between the governor arm and the throttle butterfly on the carb. Moving this arm around with the engine off doesn't have any effect. When the engine is running, the governor does it's best to keep the engine at 3600RPM. By moving the throttle lever into a slower position, you are reducing the governor's ability to hold the throttle wide open.

So again, put everything back to the way it was, and if the engine still gives difficulty starting, troubleshoot the problem from other angles.
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #28  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:58 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

i did not re jet the carb, the only thing was taking off the stock airbox, and putting on an adaptor and air filter over the adaptor,i didnt do anything with the timing or valve lash, but with the arm on, it started it ran i could rev it up with the arm, then just right after ive taken the arm off, it refuses to start, just backfires, so if it was a dirty carb it would run terrible and at least attempt to run, it was running perfect just before, and this was in the peroid of at least 2 hours because i stayed out there working, so its not a dirty carb, its something to do with the govner
  #29  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:01 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

and i dont mind the govner, i just want my mini bike throttle to work on the engine, which is how i got into this in the first place "/
  #30  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:07 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

So- put it all back together, and connect your minibike's hand throttle to the engine's throttle arm. If putting the governor (please, note the spelling) linkage back together does not solve your problem, then your problem lies elsewhere!
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #31  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:11 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I've run into trouble when trying to override governors. We had a kart that ran perfectly fine with a stock engine. Then the guy who owned it figured out he could reach back and over ride the governor (which is essentially what you are trying to do with removing the arm). His kart ran fine for a while, but then the engine died.

I don't quite understand why it died or why your's is backfiring. What I do know is that over riding the governor causes weird stuff to happen. I think it's a combination of running lean, excess vacuum, or a clogged carb. I understand that it seems like everything is running fine just a second before it stops working, but it's the same way with heart attacks. Your heart could be working fine right up until something makes its way into an artery and happens to stick.

So long winded analogy to say if you can't figure out any other problem, you could always clean the carb again.

Again I ask are you planning on keeping the governor? I would suggest following these directions http://www.affordablegokarts.com/govenor-removal.php and starting from scratch on a throttle mechanism. There are many examples around here http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthr...ering+geometry along with general kart info.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
  #32  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:17 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

if i do run the hand throttle to the throttle arm, i have to drill into the throttle arm, and find a way to hold the side of the cable to the bikes frame somewhere, and DCProductions i do plan to keep it, but i have to find a way to hook up the throttle,
  #33  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:19 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,692 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendelrk View Post
if i do run the hand throttle to the throttle arm, i have to drill into the throttle arm, and find a way to hold the side of the cable to the bikes frame somewhere, and DCProductions i do plan to keep it, but i have to find a way to hook up the throttle,
Yes, you do. Not hard at all.
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #34  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:23 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

it can be on a small amount of money and not many tools
  #35  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:23 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendelrk View Post
if i do run the hand throttle to the throttle arm, i have to drill into the throttle arm, and find a way to hold the side of the cable to the bikes frame somewhere
I think you got it. Like toystory said, going back to the stock setup is you best bet, and drilling into the stock throttle arm is the just about only way I can think of running a governed throttle. I'll try to draw something up for you.
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
  #36  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:29 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

thankyou, thanks guys for all the help,
  #37  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:34 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Looks like I don't need to draw anything. This is an idea for mounting the cable http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1183
You don't have to mount it to the air box (since you don't use it anymore) but I think that plastic tubing and a compression fitting wouldn't be more than $5-8.
Here are the specific links from the link I sent you earlier.
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1183
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1297
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=9808
http://www.affordablegokarts.com/throttle-linkage.php
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=10085
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=3137

almost forgot.
Thanks lanuse for the thread! Helpful links from the forum
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
  #38  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:38 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

thankyou, that does look pretty easy, but what do i bolt it to since i dont have the airbox?
  #39  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:44 PM
DCProductions's Avatar
DCProductions DCProductions is offline
Cockney Ragamuffin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

My idea was to drill into (not through) your air filter adapter, tap the hole or use a self tapping screw to mount the bracket, and angle the bracket that holds the fitting so that it lines up with where you drill the hole on the throttle arm.

That's more complicated, so I thought you might be able to find a solid piece on the minibike that was directly across from the throttle arm and just have a lot of exposed cable. You would have to run the cable tighter than normal but that just involves a stronger spring.
__________________
Full Suspension Conversion Results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBiFX2Cgvmk
  #40  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:49 PM
kendelrk's Avatar
kendelrk kendelrk is offline
redneck engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: westland michigan
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 24
Thanked 84 Times in 84 Posts
Default

the only problem in the airfilter goes all the way over the adaptor, and is down farther than the arm itself, so what if i drilled a screw into a back peice of the frame and ran it through there?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.