Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:40 PM
mdj89 mdj89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Torque converter not engaging

I have a yerf dog 3203 with a 40 series comet torque converter. I am on my 3rd torque converter and for some reason they only last so long. It dosent engaged when I accelerate as in the kart dosent move at all. Do you have to keep those torque converts lubricated an if so do I use regular WD 40 or a dry lube? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:32 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,330
Thanks: 197
Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
Default

What's the gearing and tire size?
You're probably smoking the belt.
Don't waste money on new TCs every time!
Sheesh, you're ~$1,000+ in the hole!
You don't need to and shouldn't lube it usually.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:52 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,057
Thanks: 762
Thanked 1,669 Times in 1,370 Posts
Default

Ya cleaning and lubricating is required often....
DRY LUBE ONLY...

Here is a primmer on that...
http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=7332
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mckutzy For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (06-12-2019)
  #4  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:59 PM
mdj89 mdj89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The gearing and everything is fine...everything's stock. And the belt is fine also. Just the torque converter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:24 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,330
Thanks: 197
Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
Default

It sounds like something is incredibly wrong!
Post some pics please!
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:46 PM
mdj89 mdj89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/attachm...1&d=1348348731

---------- Post added at 05:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:45 PM ----------

http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/attachm...1&d=1348348731
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2019, 05:44 PM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 254
Thanks: 62
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Well your missing a bearing, and where’s your driven?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2019, 08:22 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,330
Thanks: 197
Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
Default

And the chain is off.....
There needs to be a second bearing on the jackshaft, and onto that jackshaft the driven pulley needs to slide on. The belt goes between the pulleys, and the chain attaches to a sprocket on the driven.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.