Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:51 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default oil change gone bad

well we went to change the oil in my freinds kart the other day. nothing new i can do it with one hand. well we drained the oil it was all gunky and nasty and there wasnt much in it. so then we filled it up with the recomended oil freaking 15w 30 or 15w40 one of the two non synthetic. and we fired it up and we filled his garage with smoke.....how the **** we screew this up its burning oil really badly and when i checked the oil to make sure its not overflown its pitch black like wtf..... it ran fine before the change of oil and the new plug wire i dont think that could be the problem.

so what the heck is wrong with this thing? my guess is some of the oil was where it wasnt suposed to be and the new stuff losened it. i told him change the oil again but i think hes to lazy...so if someone wants to back my theory up or throw some more ideas out there.. btw this is a chinese pos 150 cc engine in a tomberlin cross fire kart
  #2  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:05 PM
Affair_driven Affair_driven is offline
BULL DETECTOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wolf Point, Montana
Posts: 460
Thanks: 4
Thanked 47 Times in 47 Posts
Default

Multi-grade oil is recommended in manual?
__________________
"In a cosmic setting vast and old beyond ordinary human understanding we are a little lonely..."
  #3  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:06 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

its recomended on the little parts list on the gas tank its ment to run high octaine gass 93 i think.
  #4  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:11 PM
t0x1k's Avatar
t0x1k t0x1k is offline
Vroom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South, NJ
Posts: 435
Thanks: 2
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Oil just doesn't go pitch black withing a few minutes. You had to have some old oil somewhere. Like the OHV area or something.

Burning oil is 3 things, bad rings, bad valve seals, and over filled.
  #5  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:14 PM
Affair_driven Affair_driven is offline
BULL DETECTOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wolf Point, Montana
Posts: 460
Thanks: 4
Thanked 47 Times in 47 Posts
Default

Multi-grades tend to burn off faster as well as gunking up rings, ring lands and cylinder walls. Many manufacturers do not recommend multi-grades for that reason.
Tecumseh, and probably some others, will void warranty if 10-40 is used.
By your description, sounds like stuck or broken rings.
Further diagnosis is required before tearing into it.
__________________
"In a cosmic setting vast and old beyond ordinary human understanding we are a little lonely..."
  #6  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:14 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Im thinking he really screewed something up in it. because the thing was really smoking more then a overflow would cause and the oil level was around 3/4 so it couldnt of overflowed. so i think he either needs to drain the oil out and put new in. and if that doesnt work i get to rip it apart but its one that hangs and is really freaking in there.... i hope i dont need to tear it down, u need to rip the hole rear end out the axles and EVERYTHING.
  #7  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:30 PM
porsche930dude porsche930dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 906
Thanks: 4
Thanked 115 Times in 88 Posts
Default

how long did you run it? if you had it tipped over or something it probrobly just filled the carb or muffler with oil. Just run it for a while i bet itll clear up
__________________
"When in doubt make it stout"
  #8  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:42 PM
Affair_driven Affair_driven is offline
BULL DETECTOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wolf Point, Montana
Posts: 460
Thanks: 4
Thanked 47 Times in 47 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche930dude View Post
how long did you run it? if you had it tipped over or something it probrobly just filled the carb or muffler with oil. Just run it for a while i bet itll clear up
Doesn't explain this:
Quote:
Oil just doesn't go pitch black withing a few minutes.
__________________
"In a cosmic setting vast and old beyond ordinary human understanding we are a little lonely..."
  #9  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:53 PM
EagleTalons's Avatar
EagleTalons EagleTalons is offline
Master JB Welder
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Forsyth, Montana
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 21
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Default

15W 40 is what Diesels use. I'm at a loss to what could have went wrong...
  #10  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:59 PM
porsche930dude porsche930dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 906
Thanks: 4
Thanked 115 Times in 88 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleTalons View Post
15W 40 is what Diesels use. I'm at a loss to what could have went wrong...
Thats what i use in my air cooled porsche 911. That grade is also recommended in alot of air cooled motorcycles. As for the black oil in a few minutes. If there was enough sludge left over coating the inside of the engine its easily possible
__________________
"When in doubt make it stout"
  #11  
Old 07-23-2009, 08:41 PM
residentg's Avatar
residentg residentg is offline
...why did I do that?
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

my guess is that the old oil was sludge to the point that it clogged the drain hole. That is why not much came out. You then filled it with new oil, but since there was still a bunch of old oil in the crankcase, you in a sense, overfilled it. When you started it up, the excess oil blew by the rings, hense the smoke.

Change the oil again, if it is really bad, run some kerosene through the cc, and then change the oil 2 more times to get the kerosene out.

Change the oli on a regular basis to avoid this.
  #12  
Old 07-23-2009, 08:46 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Ok well the idiot has ran it wide open for about 4 years with replacin the oil like twice.
  #13  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:19 PM
toofarnorth's Avatar
toofarnorth toofarnorth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Posts: 237
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I know someone that would run their worn out engines with almost no oil in them because if they fill it to the correct level they smoke from oil getting past the rings. you'd think the engine wouldn't last too long like that but he ran it for 2 weeks 12 hours a day that way and it was just barely starting to knock when he replaced it, Hondas are awesome.
  #14  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:40 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

its not a honda nor a honda clone its just a pos no name freaking chinese reject engine.
  #15  
Old 07-23-2009, 10:16 PM
THE HUNTER's Avatar
THE HUNTER THE HUNTER is offline
"Ghetto Rigging Expert"
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 347
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by residentg View Post
my guess is that the old oil was sludge to the point that it clogged the drain hole. That is why not much came out. You then filled it with new oil, but since there was still a bunch of old oil in the crankcase, you in a sense, overfilled it. When you started it up, the excess oil blew by the rings, hense the smoke.

Change the oil again, if it is really bad, run some kerosene through the cc, and then change the oil 2 more times to get the kerosene out.

Change the oli on a regular basis to avoid this.
that sounds possible.
i know an old engine i had had a lot of sludge in the oil sump and after an oil change the oil would get black quickly. i think it was a 1950s Wisconsin on a roto-tiller, LOTS of use on it, even with proper oil changes, it built up a fair amount of sludge. (older oils didnt have as much sludge protection as modern ones, and was only used for a day or two out of the year for a long time.)
so if the owner of the engine you are having probs with abused it like you are saying (i know ppl like that), residentg's idea is deff worth trying.
__________________
"When you have little cash, you have to do without some things.... Like the 's' in 'Scrap Kart'...." -Me
  #16  
Old 07-23-2009, 10:37 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

This kid abuses the crap out of everything he blew his engine in his blazer he didnt bother fixing it when it started to knock so he just kept at it blew it and i wonder what else he did to the damb thing.
  #17  
Old 07-23-2009, 11:28 PM
toofarnorth's Avatar
toofarnorth toofarnorth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Posts: 237
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakboy View Post
its not a honda nor a honda clone its just a pos no name freaking chinese reject engine.
yeah I know, but that could still be why the one you're working on is smoking.
  #18  
Old 07-24-2009, 11:18 AM
oscaryu1 oscaryu1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,767
Thanks: 6
Thanked 148 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Hey if he doesn't want it, I'll take it!
  #19  
Old 07-24-2009, 11:21 AM
Kaptain Krunch's Avatar
Kaptain Krunch Kaptain Krunch is offline
Pro Junk Collector
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vermont
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 66
Thanked 321 Times in 296 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakboy View Post
its not a honda nor a honda clone its just a pos no name freaking chinese reject engine.
I thought most of those karts used gy6 clones?
__________________
"If you want, I can teach you how to make a bomb out of a toilet paper roll and a stick of dynamite"
  #20  
Old 07-24-2009, 12:01 PM
freakboy's Avatar
freakboy freakboy is offline
the names 'mater
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: hick town
Posts: 3,961
Thanks: 134
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
Default

idk all i know its beat to crap. he has 500 acres to romp on and one day like a year ago we were driving it around and rolled it twice then fliped it back over then kept goin and since its air cooled goin through the woods really cooks the freaking thing.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.