Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2018, 02:46 PM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 903
Thanks: 13
Thanked 258 Times in 217 Posts
Default Black residue on TAV driver?

What is this black stuff(well most likely rubber deposits from the belt) and what does it mean. My bornze bushing runs very smoothly and freely but the belt doesn't seem to catch it if that helps at all. It wipes off pretty easily
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20180808_164110.jpg  
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #2  
Old 08-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Clifton's Avatar
Clifton Clifton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Indeed it is belt wear, if you had a cover over it you would likely find a fine dusting of belt rubber as well, any strands fraying off the belt yet?

A number of factors can increase belt wear:
Engine size, kart + rider weight, gear ratio, rear tire size, maybe the pulleys aren't aligned with each other, incorrect belt size / belt quality (china).

Maybe you can shed some light on some of these ^

If you have the TAV with the backplate, I believe you want the 203589 belt, there are often others that are "close" to the right size that come with it.
  #3  
Old 08-08-2018, 04:27 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 67
Thanked 853 Times in 591 Posts
Default

Yup, it's rubber goo from the belt slipping
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
  #4  
Old 08-08-2018, 04:56 PM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 903
Thanks: 13
Thanked 258 Times in 217 Posts
Default

Belt fraying: yes. I can tell you all the gearing is factory and provides no strain on the TAV. Maybe the last few launches I did, the belt slipped a bit?
250lbs total load
6.5HP Predator 212 stock & governed
TAV30 W/ 6:1 ratio
18" rear tires which are properly inflated
This setup shouldn't be anywhere near the top end of what a TAV30 can handle.
Here's a pic of the belt.
Attached Thumbnails
15337689403803004674428520907989.jpg  
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #5  
Old 08-08-2018, 07:39 PM
Kansaskart Kansaskart is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 452
Thanks: 12
Thanked 110 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Absolutely nothing to worry over, esp as cheap as belts are. But if you Never seen it then yeah might make you wonder. When you use $100+ belts like on my atvs then you got reason for paranoia if you think somethings wrong.
  #6  
Old 08-08-2018, 08:41 PM
Clifton's Avatar
Clifton Clifton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Could just be normal wear, but I understand wanting to rule out any problems. I went through the same thing when I first got a TAV, in my case the belt was the wrong size and caused it to wear prematurely.

No backplate on that setup, so to rule out belt length you will have to do some measuring.

First measure the rear pulley across and see if it's the 6" or 7".

Then measure center-to-center (center of front pulley to center of rear pulley) and you can compare the result you get with this chart to give you an idea of what belt you are supposed to have.

example: if you had a 6" rear pulley and the center to center distance measures 7", you would want a belt length as close as possible to 27.36"


You could also compare it to the length of the belt you have now. (If you don't know the size of the current belt you can measure it with a piece of string running the length around the belt, then straighten it out and measure it)

If it turns out that the belt is too long or something you may be able to move the engine forward or move the rear pulley backward if it is mounted in slotted holes.
  #7  
Old 08-09-2018, 05:33 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 903
Thanks: 13
Thanked 258 Times in 217 Posts
Default

Its a standard MANCO 5959/203589 belt.
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #8  
Old 08-09-2018, 07:53 AM
Clifton's Avatar
Clifton Clifton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Default

In that case, you can just verify you have a 6" rear pulley and that the center-to-center distance between the pulleys is right about at 7", you should be able to move the engine forward/back to adjust the distance between the pulleys.
  #9  
Old 08-09-2018, 08:28 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 903
Thanks: 13
Thanked 258 Times in 217 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifton View Post
In that case, you can just verify you have a 6" rear pulley and that the center-to-center distance between the pulleys is right about at 7", you should be able to move the engine forward/back to adjust the distance between the pulleys.
I can't. The engine and the TAV plate are fixed because they use some wierd bolts that go straight through. The TAV and motor can be moved to adjust the chain.

__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.