Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2019, 08:41 PM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default Too rich?

As the title says, is this plug saying my mixture is too rich?! Itís an .038 main jet along with open header and high flow air filter
Attached Thumbnails
64E25335-FED2-4446-A902-083A31E7285D.jpg  
  #2  
Old 04-17-2019, 09:06 PM
Budget GoKart's Avatar
Budget GoKart Budget GoKart is offline
Aka a kenbar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 19
Thanked 119 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Mine might be too
__________________
Rust gives it character... until it breaks in half then you get character.
  #3  
Old 04-17-2019, 09:19 PM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Budget GoKart View Post
Mine might be too
Yea Iím just not to sure, and donít want to foul my plug or mess the engine up
  #4  
Old 04-17-2019, 11:55 PM
Ebrownie's Avatar
Ebrownie Ebrownie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Western Montana
Posts: 570
Thanks: 245
Thanked 197 Times in 141 Posts
Default

You’re just fine. In my opinion anyway. It might be a bit rich, but as long as it revs good and doesn’t sputter or ever lose power, it’s not a problem. You might foul a plug here and there, but rich is better than lean. But I know people will disagree with me on not worrying about it.
  #5  
Old 04-18-2019, 07:08 AM
Budget GoKart's Avatar
Budget GoKart Budget GoKart is offline
Aka a kenbar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 19
Thanked 119 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Well i rather my engine run lean aslong as it doesnt sputter
__________________
Rust gives it character... until it breaks in half then you get character.
  #6  
Old 04-18-2019, 07:21 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,346
Thanks: 1,406
Thanked 4,362 Times in 3,281 Posts
Default

unfortunately that pic is not well enough lit to make a good call ..

But it's the insulator you should care about most, not the thread.
And that looks okay to me (again, can be deceived by the camera flash)

So I could say I'm with Ebrownie here if that pic is all we have to judge.

Then again, the rest looks pretty bad...
So while I wouldn't rejet just yet,
I think I'd adjust the idle closer to perfect and maybe lean out the main just a hair
(in case it's at all settable for your carb)

clean that plug as good as you can (wire brush, wash in fuel then scotch brite)
reinstall it;
drive; throttle up to max rev and keep there for about a minute,
cut the engine off and get another pic of the plug (outside bright sunlight)
on a white sheet of paper.

That way we have a much better pic to judge.

This is a good chart to compare to:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Spark Plug Reading.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	162.3 KB
ID:	106698

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
  #7  
Old 04-18-2019, 08:46 AM
J.S.@SMS's Avatar
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is offline
Here 8am-? Mon-Fri
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 650
Thanks: 62
Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
Default

Do they have one of those charts for X style plugs?
  #8  
Old 04-18-2019, 08:53 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsid View Post
unfortunately that pic is not well enough lit to make a good call ..

But it's the insulator you should care about most, not the thread.
And that looks okay to me (again, can be deceived by the camera flash)

So I could say I'm with Ebrownie here if that pic is all we have to judge.

Then again, the rest looks pretty bad...
So while I wouldn't rejet just yet,
I think I'd adjust the idle closer to perfect and maybe lean out the main just a hair
(in case it's at all settable for your carb)

clean that plug as good as you can (wire brush, wash in fuel then scotch brite)
reinstall it;
drive; throttle up to max rev and keep there for about a minute,
cut the engine off and get another pic of the plug (outside bright sunlight)
on a white sheet of paper.

That way we have a much better pic to judge.

This is a good chart to compare to:
Attachment 106698

'sid
I will get a new picture here soon!
  #9  
Old 04-18-2019, 11:18 AM
Flyinhillbilly's Avatar
Flyinhillbilly Flyinhillbilly is offline
The great cornholio
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North West Arkansas
Posts: 2,087
Thanks: 2,197
Thanked 946 Times in 665 Posts
Default

I’m agree that rich is better than lean. Judging by what I can see if it runs ok I wouldn’t mess with it. I run two race karts rich on the pilot circuit for better throttle response with no problems. I run my alcohol kart rich too. Too many years messing with two strokes got me that way. When those go lean you rebuild.
__________________
You can't drink all day if you don't start in the morning
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Flyinhillbilly For This Useful Post:
950speed (04-18-2019), Denny (04-19-2019), Ebrownie (04-18-2019)
  #10  
Old 04-18-2019, 02:25 PM
LightningTeg's Avatar
LightningTeg LightningTeg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 75
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebrownie View Post
Youíre just fine. In my opinion anyway. It might be a bit rich, but as long as it revs good and doesnít sputter or ever lose power, itís not a problem. You might foul a plug here and there, but rich is better than lean. But I know people will disagree with me on not worrying about it.
It so low on compression probably not a big deal if you go either way a little bit. Just make sure to run premium
  #11  
Old 04-19-2019, 07:09 AM
J.S.@SMS's Avatar
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is offline
Here 8am-? Mon-Fri
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 650
Thanks: 62
Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
Default

If it's available, run recreational fuel (non-ethanol). It'll save you some money from not having to rebuild your carbs.
  #12  
Old 04-19-2019, 10:13 AM
65ShelbyClone's Avatar
65ShelbyClone 65ShelbyClone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SoCal
Posts: 453
Thanks: 42
Thanked 180 Times in 150 Posts
Default

First of all, it looks like you simply pulled the plug after running the engine around for some time. We can't tell anything based on that; you need to start with a new plug and do a proper "plug chop" test.

Second, oxygenated/reformulated/etc pump gas is going to make plug reading difficult at best. All the plug reading charts you'll find likely date back to the unoxygenated gas days, if not leaded gas era(roughly pre-1974) and are not very representative of what you'll see nowadays.

Based on your photo, yes it's rich somewhere. Could be the idle, could be the pilot, could be the main, or could be a combination.

And don't bother using premium gas with stock compression unless the plug shows that it's needed.
__________________
I'll show those guys who's in top place, I'll really give 'em a hotrod race.
The Following User Says Thank You to 65ShelbyClone For This Useful Post:
Flyinhillbilly (04-19-2019)
  #13  
Old 04-19-2019, 01:02 PM
Flyinhillbilly's Avatar
Flyinhillbilly Flyinhillbilly is offline
The great cornholio
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North West Arkansas
Posts: 2,087
Thanks: 2,197
Thanked 946 Times in 665 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65ShelbyClone View Post
First of all, it looks like you simply pulled the plug after running the engine around for some time. We can't tell anything based on that; you need to start with a new plug and do a proper "plug chop" test.

Second, oxygenated/reformulated/etc pump gas is going to make plug reading difficult at best. All the plug reading charts you'll find likely date back to the unoxygenated gas days, if not leaded gas era(roughly pre-1974) and are not very representative of what you'll see nowadays.

Based on your photo, yes it's rich somewhere. Could be the idle, could be the pilot, could be the main, or could be a combination.

And don't bother using premium gas with stock compression unless the plug shows that it's needed.
My name is Flyinhillbilly and I support this message.
__________________
You can't drink all day if you don't start in the morning
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Flyinhillbilly For This Useful Post:
65ShelbyClone (04-19-2019), 950speed (04-19-2019)
  #14  
Old 04-19-2019, 08:58 PM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Sorry for getting back too late, I went and bought two new plugs, and what I have done so far is put the stock jet in. Pictures are attached

Things I noticed:
1. No more crackling, the richer jet would cause a pop sound upon deceleration
2. Smoother acceleration
3. Wider power band( at least it seems like it)

Things I’m still curious about:
1. Why does the lean jet seem to work better

Thanks guys for everything so far!

The pictures are after running at higher rpm (~3500) for 15 minutes only. Although with he stick jet, high flow air filter/exhaust the engine does seem to have a bit more power, then again it’s my first time doing this.

Previously with the .038 jet that came with the kit, I would only experience more power at high rpm, and even still then the plug was really dark.


Side question: would drilling out the idle jet have an affect on lower rpm acceleration and power?
Attached Thumbnails
7B8720BC-1D17-4DAF-A8A8-38C9DBFD4DAE.jpg   555F2557-F301-4565-9AF9-010ADD9CE00B.jpg  

  #15  
Old 04-20-2019, 06:05 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,346
Thanks: 1,406
Thanked 4,362 Times in 3,281 Posts
Default

that's what I'd call a near perfect plug!

I wouldn't even think about touching a setting!...
different air humidity and temperature is what the miniscule offset is coming from IMHO
(a perfectly dialed in air/fuel ratio early in the morning in your cool garage looks like that
in the heat of a summer afternoon)

still a bit glossy on the electrode (bit rich)
but a nice spark and thorough combustion (perfect coloured insulator)



[EDIT]
drilling out the idle is not a good idea, you still want the needle to seat perfectly, so reaming
would be the way to enlarge it... (I wouldn't even try)
it's essentially the same as opening up the idle jet with your setscrew. (what you could try instead)

Yes it's add fuel to the low speed "circuit" but
since you cannot do that without affecting - you guessed it - idle
[at which it's the single source for fuel];
you'd need to close that gap again in order to not foul your plug before taking off...
(so no more allowing the engine to heat up before a 'race')


'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
The Following User Says Thank You to itsid For This Useful Post:
950speed (04-20-2019)
  #16  
Old 04-20-2019, 08:45 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsid View Post
that's what I'd call a near perfect plug!

I wouldn't even think about touching a setting!...
different air humidity and temperature is what the miniscule offset is coming from IMHO
(a perfectly dialed in air/fuel ratio early in the morning in your cool garage looks like that
in the heat of a summer afternoon)

still a bit glossy on the electrode (bit rich)
but a nice spark and thorough combustion (perfect coloured insulator)



[EDIT]
drilling out the idle is not a good idea, you still want the needle to seat perfectly, so reaming
would be the way to enlarge it... (I wouldn't even try)
it's essentially the same as opening up the idle jet with your setscrew. (what you could try instead)

Yes it's add fuel to the low speed "circuit" but
since you cannot do that without affecting - you guessed it - idle
[at which it's the single source for fuel];
you'd need to close that gap again in order to not foul your plug before taking off...
(so no more allowing the engine to heat up before a 'race')


'sid
Okay great! I was just confused, because itís the stock jet being used, while more air is coming into the engine because of the air filter. And more power feels like itís being made.

Any idea as to why this jet still works good, Iím still curious?
  #17  
Old 04-20-2019, 09:32 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 653
Thanked 366 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Like 'sid said, there's a lot of variables that will affect it, namely air density and temperature, and the mixture screw setting. There's probably just not as much air as you think flowing through, so it doesn't need that much fuel through the main jet.
If it ain't broke(anymore), DON'T FIX IT!
__________________
King of Controversy
  #18  
Old 04-20-2019, 09:42 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTSpeedDemon View Post
Like 'sid said, there's a lot of variables that will affect it, namely air density and temperature, and the mixture screw setting. There's probably just not as much air as you think flowing through, so it doesn't need that much fuel through the main jet.
If it ain't broke(anymore), DON'T FIX IT!
So it’s all possible because of air density, and I still get more power? I have stage one kit, not trying to argue but just confused



Is it heard of to make more power with stage one without rejecting? Again I don’t know if this makes a difference, but with the rich jet it made more power up at higher rpm it felt like.
  #19  
Old 04-20-2019, 10:19 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,402
Thanks: 820
Thanked 1,774 Times in 1,465 Posts
Default

First... these clone carbs for the most part aren't adjustable asfar as the mixture screw is concerned... that is what a plug test and redrilling the jet does... it sets it to the right "setting" for proper combustion...
The adjustable screw is typically not present on most carbs here in N. America due to environmental constraints...and that is just the idle jet mixer....
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #20  
Old 04-20-2019, 10:28 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 385
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

??^
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.