Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > More Builds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:13 AM
jeffreyirish jeffreyirish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default throttle?

So i recently started building a scrap cart and the engine that i am using is a 10 hp Tecumseh motor from a snowblower, i have the thing lined up and mounted down but i have run into an issue unlike most box motor and cart engines, it doesn't have a place for me to effectively mount the throttle cable to , i'm used to predator motors, where the throttle just attaches to a spring actuated arm right next to the carb, has anyone done this before? how did you mount your throttle cable, do they sell kits? Side question how should i mount the Air filter as most snowblowers don't have one, and should i be worried about overheating?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:06 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,712
Thanks: 383
Thanked 198 Times in 183 Posts
Default

It helps a lot to have pics of the engine mounted throttle setup, so if you could start with posting some, that would be great.
BTW, a thread like this would probably go best in the Engines & Clutches forum. Just to let ya know.

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:05 AM ----------

How to post pics: http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=735
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:10 AM
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is offline
Here 8am-? Mon-Fri
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 469
Thanks: 51
Thanked 85 Times in 75 Posts
Default

I'm not sure about a 10hp Tecumseh, but my 6.0 has a mushroom on the end of the throttle cable, that hooks into a groove in the throttle plate.
__________________
If a picture is worth a thousand words, what is a video worth?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:54 AM
jeffreyirish jeffreyirish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


Here is a photo of the engine that i have i am at work right now so i couldnt get a picture of my exact engine but this is what the throttle cable connects to just a lever (the read one) with no spring so the Gas pedal on the Kart wont work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2019, 10:52 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,712
Thanks: 383
Thanked 198 Times in 183 Posts
Default

Sounds like it would work, but what's wrong with the pedal?
It shouldn't be too hard to add a throttle return spring.
If you could give us some close up pics of you specific throttle assembly on your actual engine, that would help a lot.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2019, 10:50 AM
Kaptain Krunch's Avatar
Kaptain Krunch Kaptain Krunch is offline
Pro Junk Collector
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vermont
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 66
Thanked 321 Times in 296 Posts
Default

No spring? Add one...make a bracket to hold cable on engine shroud. disconnect kill wire from throttle lever so it doesnt shut off when not accelerating.

Remove the heat box around carb/exhaust and install air filter

No engine will not overheat.
__________________
"If you want, I can teach you how to make a bomb out of a toilet paper roll and a stick of dynamite"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 PM.