Notices

Closed Thread

Old 08-25-2017, 05:29 PM

Default Is This A Rupp Super K?

Click image for larger version

Name:	dart1.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	88654 Another CL find... is this a Super K? Looks like someone put some God-awful bumpers on it......Or did Rupp build it like that? Thanks for any info.....

Click image for larger version

Name:	dart2.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	88655
Old 08-27-2017, 08:54 AM

im no expert, but id read the steering wheel
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to karl For This Useful Post:
gokarttimmy (08-27-2017), KingCobra (11-27-2017)
Old 08-27-2017, 01:42 PM

Ummmmm.......Now, after sending me a smart aleck answer, I will ask again-because, as most folks know,Rupp made several different models-if one reads the steering wheel ,as you brilliantly made clear, it is a Dart Kart-but I trust folks on this forum to be able to actually provide useful information. There were different types of Dart Karts. My question was basically one to find out if those big ugly bumpers were added on later or supplied by Rupp. I have seen quite a few pics of Rupp karts and none of them had bumpers like that. But perhaps someone out there in Forum Land could help me out and tell me for sure. Thanks.
Old 11-27-2017, 03:09 AM

To answer your questions Gokarttimmy:

No, the bumpers do no appear to be factory. They would have had either a swoop like what you would see on other karts or none at all. There are aftermarket bumpers such as Burgfelt which are bolt on.

From what I have gathered by examining your photos, no the kart does not appear to be a Super K. Reasons are:
1. No sign of rear spun aluminum fuel tank mounts/brackets on the frame. These brackets would be located on each side of the frame post, behind the seat down at the bottom towards your tailbone.
2. The Super K does not have support bars on the front spindles.
3. The Super K was shorter in length for performance reasons then the other Rupp kart models