Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Electric Projects

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2013, 07:12 PM
dcastillo dcastillo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tampa Florida, USA
Posts: 319
Thanks: 106
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default anyone made a push button turbo?

just had this thought earlier today, Im sure someone here has done it so I wanted to get some opinions (how well it works or if its bad for the electric setup)

basically, assuming you have a 36V motor...
you connect 3 12v batteries as usual, but the last battery, instead of going to the controller, goes to the common of a 12V contact (controlled by a momentary pushbutton), the NC side goes to the controller, the NO side goes to another 12V battery and then to the controller....
hence, when you press the button it instantly adds the 4th battery in series giving you 48V while you hold the button...

in theory I think it would work, but I dont know a lot about how controllers operate and if they would have a problem with this setup..

Thought????
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 07:58 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 9,878
Thanks: 1,343
Thanked 4,194 Times in 3,139 Posts
Default

I'm sorry, I think I don't understand how you want to connect the fourth battery.

I can't exactly see how to add a fourth battery in series with just a push button.

Assuming the following txt-schematics
[motor_terminal A] - [Powercontroller] - [motor_terminal B]
And
[Powercontroller] - [Bat1-] [Bat1+] - [Bat2-] [Bat2+] - [Bat3-] [Bat3+] - [Powercontroller]
(all the same Powercontroller)
If you want to add a fourth battery in series, you must have at least two connections for it,
[Bat3+] -here- [Bat4-][Bat4+] -and here- [Powercontroller]
at the same time you need to cut the connection between Bat3+ and the Powercontroller
So three contacts, one could be permanent ([Bat3+]-[Bat4-]) I think,
In any way the pushbutton has to withstand quite alot of current,
so I doubt that is a very good idea.

*shrugs*

Could you draw a schematic how you intend to connect the batteries, controller and motor?
Maybe I just miss something in your description.

'sid

PS I think there are controllers that can do something like this much more convenient and reliable
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
  #3  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:28 PM
dcastillo dcastillo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tampa Florida, USA
Posts: 319
Thanks: 106
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

hows this...
since I dont really know much about controllers, I left it out of the pic
under normal conditions, batteries a,b,c power the motor, once you press the button PB, it removes the pos connection to the third battery and moves it to the fourth battery...
Attached Thumbnails
turbo button.JPG  
  #4  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:41 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 9,878
Thanks: 1,343
Thanked 4,194 Times in 3,139 Posts
Default

Ah.. relay...

Yes, that would work I guess, if instead of the Motor you add the power input of the controller and the motor just to the power output of the controller (as usual).

As long as the controller does not have a voltage regulator.
I've never tested such set up nor seen anything like that, so maybe you want to wait a little for a more educated opinion than mine

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
  #5  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:51 PM
ed1380's Avatar
ed1380 ed1380 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 1,182
Thanks: 9
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

That sounds pretty neat especially if your speed controller can only handle 36v and you have a brushed motor. Just wire in a diode capable of the amps at the output of the ESC and it'll work.
  #6  
Old 08-31-2013, 09:37 PM
dcastillo dcastillo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tampa Florida, USA
Posts: 319
Thanks: 106
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed1380 View Post
That sounds pretty neat especially if your speed controller can only handle 36v and you have a brushed motor. Just wire in a diode capable of the amps at the output of the ESC and it'll work.
so your thinking of adding the 4th battery after the controller?
Is the diode to protect back EMF when the motor cuts off, so it doesnt damage the controller?


I was actually thinking of putting it before the controller (assuming the controller is rated at 48V)
  #7  
Old 08-31-2013, 11:50 PM
ed1380's Avatar
ed1380 ed1380 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 1,182
Thanks: 9
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

We are talking about a real controller here. Not a relay. Correct?

Think about it this way. The controller is designed to handle 36v out. Once you give the motors 48v, the wires connecting the motor to the ESC will also be at 48v, hence the diodes preventing the 48v reaching the ESC. Only problem is that the ESC will not be able to have reverse with the diodes connected
  #8  
Old 09-01-2013, 12:03 AM
ed1380's Avatar
ed1380 ed1380 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 1,182
Thanks: 9
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Well I just solved it. Run in through a DPDT switch like the diagram. In the left(normal) position the ESC is connected to the motor and the 48v is open. When flipped to the right, the ESC is disconnected from the motor and 48v is supplied to the motor. Definitely get a switch that is rated for the full power. I also recommend a switch that defaults to one position and momentary to the other position.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 AM.