Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > All Other Parts

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:23 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Adding a starter to go kart

I found the starter that will fit on my Tecumseh OHH60 but I don't know where it would be mounted if I bought it here's the link for the starter http://www.jackssmallengines.com/Pro...435627/56959/s
  #2  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:36 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

that starter is 120v for a house circuit, you will need to plug in an extension cord every time to use it

your flywheel has to have a ring gear and your engine block has to have drilled/tapped holes in the front
Attached Images
 
  #3  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:39 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What do you mean by plugin a extension cord ? And what if I don't have those two holes in front?
  #4  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:42 PM
souperman000's Avatar
souperman000 souperman000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Westlake Village, CA
Posts: 2,466
Thanks: 38
Thanked 224 Times in 212 Posts
Default

For that price, you could just get an engine that comes with electric start.

That starter is designed to be run from an outlet. Since you probably don't have an electrical outlet on your kart, you would need to run an extension cord and plug it in everytime you wanted to use it. Without the holes, you might be able to jerry rig a mount or something. Maybe use some plumber's strap.
__________________
It's hard to help people that won't help themselves.
  #5  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:45 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

True about the whole new engine but I see people just use like a battery and hook up the wires an have nice keyholes for a key tournament ignition
  #6  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:51 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

you would need a starter from a lawn tractor or something then. if you want to have a battery and key start you need a 12v DC starter. they are harder to come by on the tecumseh's.

the starter in the link is 120v AC and made for snowblowers. they do not put batteries on snowblowers because they are used in the cold. this type of starter wont run off a battery
  #7  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:53 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluethunder3320 View Post
you would need a starter from a lawn tractor or something then. if you want to have a battery and key start you need a 12v DC starter. they are harder to come by on the tecumseh's.

the starter in the link is 120v AC and made for snowblowers. they do not put batteries on snowblowers because they are used in the cold. this type of starter wont run off a battery
Ok then how do I install a key switch or key ignition or wire it up then? With out the starter
  #8  
Old 02-20-2013, 09:58 PM
Bluethunder3320's Avatar
Bluethunder3320 Bluethunder3320 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 516
Thanked 188 Times in 168 Posts
Default

you mean just have a key for the kill switch? does it have a kill switch on it now? you can run the wires to a key switch
  #9  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:00 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluethunder3320 View Post
you mean just have a key for the kill switch? does it have a kill switch on it now? you can run the wires to a key switch
Yeah I have a kill switch
  #10  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:08 PM
trekklee trekklee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluethunder3320 View Post
you mean just have a key for the kill switch? does it have a kill switch on it now? you can run the wires to a key switch
If it is hooked up with the switch it has to be on to start the engine right ???
  #11  
Old 02-20-2013, 11:15 PM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,199
Thanks: 2,046
Thanked 3,401 Times in 2,770 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trekklee View Post
If it is hooked up with the switch it has to be on to start the engine right ???
That is correct
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 AM.