Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > Off Topic Forum

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2019, 06:44 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,007
Thanks: 778
Thanked 759 Times in 602 Posts
Default DIYGK site "freezing up"

Many times lately, when I try to attach a pic, or now even click on a link the site freezes up.

I don't think it's my computer because, I can go to other sites & everything seems to work fine.

I tryed to add some pics to a post in the Damien thread (stuck)
& another time when I clicked on a youtube link (stuck again)

Could someone please look into this?

Thanks, Kevin
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
  #2  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:03 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 1,408
Thanked 4,367 Times in 3,285 Posts
Default

on my side of the planet the DIYGK works well ..
no lags, no freezes ... nothing I can complain about...

I bet I have the oldest slowest computer you can imagine
[my trustworthy internetreader is a nearly 20years old winxp box]
and I'm halfway across the globe (from the webserver that carries DIYGK)

Sorry, to me that reads the problem is on your side of internetcable

Chances are it was an ISP hiccup.. someone sat on the internettube and didn't let
the data flow ..
test a few times (different time of day ideall on two consecutive days)
maybe crosscheck with another computer at home (daughters laptop?) or with your phone,
maybe en- and disabled wifi to see if it's making any difference.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
  #3  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:50 AM
J.S.@SMS's Avatar
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is online now
Here 8am-? Mon-Fri
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 667
Thanks: 63
Thanked 121 Times in 107 Posts
Default

No problems from Florida. I'm running a 4 year old HP Pavilion with a amd a8 processor (it's on a sticker, only reason I know). Try using a network speed tester.
__________________
For his personal safety, keep this one away from bicycles.
  #4  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:50 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,007
Thanks: 778
Thanked 759 Times in 602 Posts
Default

Hmmmmmmmmm
...seems to work now

I'll let ya know if it happens again.
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
  #5  
Old 05-08-2019, 08:32 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,706
Thanks: 655
Thanked 372 Times in 342 Posts
Default

Yeah I was gonna say that it was probably your computer. I'm running an old Dell Latitude D620 laptop, and it runs fine. Ya might've had a bad internet connection. *shrug*
__________________
King of Controversy
  #6  
Old 05-08-2019, 10:04 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,885
Thanks: 614
Thanked 766 Times in 644 Posts
Default

Seems to be working just fine on my phone (both Tapatalk and through Chrome). I haven't had any issues with the site in a few months.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
  #7  
Old 05-08-2019, 10:15 AM
Budget GoKart's Avatar
Budget GoKart Budget GoKart is offline
Aka a kenbar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 19
Thanked 124 Times in 115 Posts
Default

my android freezes, but just when im typing. right now im using a school laptop and its fine.
__________________
Rust gives it character... until it breaks in half then you get character.
  #8  
Old 05-08-2019, 11:10 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 888
Thanks: 13
Thanked 256 Times in 215 Posts
Default

I have a Dingo 286 go kart and a 286 computer and both load this site just as quickly....

Well all my machines load this site just fine, including my ancient blackberry.
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #9  
Old 05-08-2019, 08:29 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,885
Thanks: 614
Thanked 766 Times in 644 Posts
Default

Maybe try rebooting the old modem and router? Maybe clear the site cache as well.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
  #10  
Old 05-08-2019, 11:31 PM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 888
Thanks: 13
Thanked 256 Times in 215 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
Maybe try rebooting the old modem and router? Maybe clear the site cache as well.
Spray some brake clean in there, that should free everything up...oh wait wrong device
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #11  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:56 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,885
Thanks: 614
Thanked 766 Times in 644 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpdingo View Post
Spray some brake clean in there, that should free everything up...oh wait wrong device
We've done similar stupid stuff at work to clean wire connectors and brake cleaner (Hexane) was one of those things used...highly not recommended.

Any luck with getting the site to work properly?
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
  #12  
Old 05-09-2019, 09:25 AM
950speed's Avatar
950speed 950speed is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liberty Hill, Texas
Posts: 386
Thanks: 71
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Maybe wd40 and some globs of JBWeld so that when it’s fixed it states that way and is hard to undo
  #13  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:20 AM
Functional Artist's Avatar
Functional Artist Functional Artist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,007
Thanks: 778
Thanked 759 Times in 602 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
We've done similar stupid stuff at work to clean wire connectors and brake cleaner (Hexane) was one of those things used...highly not recommended.

Any luck with getting the site to work properly?
Squirtin' any liquid into a computer does NOT sound like a good idea.

The "freezing up" comes & goes, sometimes it's quick (20-30 seconds)
...& other times it "freezes up" (30 min.+)

I was thinkin' maybe, my "network" does those "slow down" things? (during heavy traffic times)
or
...hackers are (somehow) usin' some of my computin' capacity? (from time to time)
__________________
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE
  #14  
Old 05-13-2019, 09:21 AM
Tpdingo Tpdingo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 888
Thanks: 13
Thanked 256 Times in 215 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Functional Artist View Post
Squirtin' any liquid into a computer does NOT sound like a good idea.

The "freezing up" comes & goes, sometimes it's quick (20-30 seconds)
...& other times it "freezes up" (30 min.+)

I was thinkin' maybe, my "network" does those "slow down" things? (during heavy traffic times)
or
...hackers are (somehow) usin' some of my computin' capacity? (from time to time)

You can always start with speedtest.net!
__________________
Give a wrench long enough and WD-40, and I can remove the world's rusty bolts.
  #15  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:22 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,885
Thanks: 614
Thanked 766 Times in 644 Posts
Default

Could just be your ISP throttling your speeds on you.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
  #16  
Old 05-13-2019, 11:42 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,409
Thanks: 824
Thanked 1,777 Times in 1,467 Posts
Default

Since were talking about it.....
What about electrical contact cleaner???..


Oh ya, speed is good overyonder here in Canada....
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:07 PM.