Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Using Tools and Welding

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2019, 12:09 PM
Job05 Job05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Netherlands > Noord-Brabant
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default broaching a keyway

so, at home i can mill a keyway into an axle but i do not have a specific boraching machine. i wonder if it's OK(or healthy) for a machine like a drillpress or a mill to use a broaching tool to broach a keyway for a sprocket hub.

answers are always appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2019, 12:16 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 6,657
Thanks: 687
Thanked 1,586 Times in 1,299 Posts
Default

A broached internal keyway is pressed in, no turning is nessisary... There is a guid plug that fits the bore... But a good arbor press will do... Any press that is easilly controllable, along with plenty of lube...
__________________
10yr+ club '08-18..My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2019, 12:24 PM
Job05 Job05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Netherlands > Noord-Brabant
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i thought that pressing and no turning would speak for itself
but if i understand, it will not do any harm when i put a broaching tool in e.g. a mill or a drillpress and then press it down?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2019, 02:19 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 6,657
Thanks: 687
Thanked 1,586 Times in 1,299 Posts
Default

I would think is possible if the quill can be locked, but the tool needs to be press into upon... So as where you are going to apply pressure is a better question...

Here's a broach tool, with the bushings, shims...

__________________
10yr+ club '08-18..My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2019, 07:56 AM
Job05 Job05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Netherlands > Noord-Brabant
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i would mount the broach in the drill chuck and then press down with the lever used to lower the quill, and if that's not enough i can put a longer tube over it for more leverage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2019, 05:33 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 6,657
Thanks: 687
Thanked 1,586 Times in 1,299 Posts
Default

The broach as far as I know, needs to be loose when pressed, as its a one way tool only.
So when its setup, itll go through on a pass, a shim added, through a pass, shim(s) added..ect. till required depth....
The withdrawal of the tool will likely dull or potentially break the tool in the work piece....
__________________
10yr+ club '08-18..My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2019, 06:42 PM
anickode's Avatar
anickode anickode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 1,604
Thanks: 52
Thanked 698 Times in 487 Posts
Default

I seriously doubt a drill press is designed to apply the kind of pressure required for broaching. It might work, or you might wind up ruining your drill press.

A manual arbor press really isn't that expensive.
__________________
"Well that would be a bomb."
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to anickode For This Useful Post:
Denny (01-19-2019), mckutzy (01-20-2019)
  #8  
Old 01-20-2019, 09:45 AM
supermanotorious's Avatar
supermanotorious supermanotorious is offline
Winchmaster 5000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New River, AZ
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 203
Thanked 432 Times in 321 Posts
Default

You could buy a press new or see below. I love this guy's channel!

__________________
www.phoenixwinch.com
www.facebook.com/wakeskatewinches www.youtube.com/user/phoenixwinch
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2019, 10:41 PM
kevbo22's Avatar
kevbo22 kevbo22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 325
Thanks: 124
Thanked 103 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Colinfurze used a shop press, much like a HF 12ton press. If you have a shop press.... Check out around 5:37 in the vid.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2019, 10:08 AM
Job05 Job05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Netherlands > Noord-Brabant
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i am definitely not going to buy a brand new arbor press, but i do know a place where i might be able to get one for cheap
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.