Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Old 01-31-2020, 11:03 AM

Default Manco 606 Scorpion MORE PERFORMANCE - Advice

Hello all, I am new to this, and have little experience with go karts other than driving them for fun. I purchased a Manco 606 Scorpion frame 3 weeks ago for my son and me to play with, and have since put a predator 212 hemi, high flow air filter, header, and rejet. I also got rid of the god awful yellow and paint the thing top to bottom. From reading posts, I have two extra belts (as back-up) and an additional drive and driven 30 series pulleys so if we go down, we aren't down for long. I purchased an aftermarket Mikuni Carb to put on it, and mistakenly got the 26mm vm22 and not the 22mm (I know I know) I am planning on removing the govenor soon, but not really planning on doing anymore to this thing at this time, or in the near future. I might get an additional street go kart to play with so I can keep tinkering in the garage. My ask is this:
Would the 26mm VM22 be a good carb to add, or would that size on a stage 1 predator 212 be more trouble than it is worth? I want more off the line, but the 40mph top speed on street and flat dirt is good for now.
Attached Thumbnails
20200125_214829.jpg   20200125_214759.jpg  

Old 01-31-2020, 11:17 AM
2019 Build Off Winner!

26mm is way too much carb for a Stage 1 212. Try returning it and getting a 22mm. 26mm will theoretically be really good for top end, but it will kill torque. The reason? Even with seriously reworked heads, race 212s have about a 26mm max as far as carbs.
Old 01-31-2020, 11:22 AM