Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2018, 11:51 AM
zogthegreat zogthegreat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lake Wales FL/Montreal QC
Posts: 230
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 76 Posts
Default Kill switch not working

Hi everyone!

I installed a new kill switch on my rebuilt motor, (it didn't have one before the rebuild), and it doesn't seem to be working. The wire to the coil is properly connected and the second wire is properly grounded to clean metal on the case.

Can anyone tell me where I'm messing up?

Thanks

zog
__________________
Previous project - "The Beast" - Current project "Spawn of the Beast"
  #2  
Old 01-24-2018, 01:06 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,356
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

Just use the low oil sensor relay. Connect that inline to ground with a momentary push button switch... Good to go...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
The Following User Says Thank You to mckutzy For This Useful Post:
bob58o (01-24-2018)
  #3  
Old 01-24-2018, 01:38 PM
zogthegreat zogthegreat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lake Wales FL/Montreal QC
Posts: 230
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 76 Posts
Default

Err, I removed the low oil sensor during the rebuild.
__________________
Previous project - "The Beast" - Current project "Spawn of the Beast"
  #4  
Old 01-24-2018, 01:56 PM
Nosandwich's Avatar
Nosandwich Nosandwich is offline
The REAL Poboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WHITE SETTLEMENT
Posts: 865
Thanks: 689
Thanked 186 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Your kill switch is not correctly wired to the coil.
__________________
I do not recall Congressman.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nosandwich For This Useful Post:
ezcome-ezgo (01-24-2018), zogthegreat (01-24-2018)
  #5  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:09 PM
TT540 TT540 is offline
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 339
Thanks: 11
Thanked 95 Times in 88 Posts
Default

So the yellow wire to the oil sensor. I just send that to ground and that's a remote shut off?

I was going to move the engine on off switch to the steering column area and make it a toggle. Sending two wires and keeping the "ground" off of the chassis.
  #6  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:22 PM
zogthegreat zogthegreat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lake Wales FL/Montreal QC
Posts: 230
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 76 Posts
Default

I was about to reply that I had checked the wire from the coil and then I thought about it. I went outside and pulled the wire from the coil and checked the spade clip. It seems that the manufacturer didn't connect the wire to the spade, they just crimped the wire plastic to it with no exposed wire lead touching the spade!

I did a quick and dirty hookup test and the switch worked properly. I'm going to solder and shrink wrap everything.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Previous project - "The Beast" - Current project "Spawn of the Beast"
The Following User Says Thank You to zogthegreat For This Useful Post:
ezcome-ezgo (01-24-2018)
  #7  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:27 PM
ezcome-ezgo's Avatar
ezcome-ezgo ezcome-ezgo is offline
G'me sumthin to write on
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 2,475
Thanked 1,000 Times in 803 Posts
Default

NoSandwich for you!
__________________
My name is Sylvester McMonkey McBean. I will make a decontamination.
  #8  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:31 PM
TT540 TT540 is offline
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 339
Thanks: 11
Thanked 95 Times in 88 Posts
Default

That is pretty sad.

I had a similar issue regarding a coil, but this was metal on metal. At least I thought. I tried to solder a wire into a male spade, but the spade was zinc coated. The solder even though it flowed well did not adhear. It was a gap, but would work and not work at the strangest times. this was the trigger for the coil. I spent about 8 hours across several days tracking that one down.
  #9  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:41 PM
zogthegreat zogthegreat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lake Wales FL/Montreal QC
Posts: 230
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 76 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezcome-ezgo View Post
NoSandwich for you!
Sandwich Nazi!

__________________
Previous project - "The Beast" - Current project "Spawn of the Beast"
  #10  
Old 01-24-2018, 04:12 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,356
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT540 View Post
So the yellow wire to the oil sensor. I just send that to ground and that's a remote shut off?

I was going to move the engine on off switch to the steering column area and make it a toggle. Sending two wires and keeping the "ground" off of the chassis.
Yup...
The little gold box that the internal float switch is connected to, is the grounding relay... Very simple and effective...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
The Following User Says Thank You to mckutzy For This Useful Post:
bob58o (01-24-2018)
  #11  
Old 01-24-2018, 05:37 PM
Nosandwich's Avatar
Nosandwich Nosandwich is offline
The REAL Poboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WHITE SETTLEMENT
Posts: 865
Thanks: 689
Thanked 186 Times in 160 Posts
Default

I think your coil is wired incorrectly.
__________________
I do not recall Congressman.
  #12  
Old 01-24-2018, 11:15 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

I've ran kill switches a few different ways.

First time I used a quick splice connector.
I crimped it onto the wire after the ON/OFF switch, before the ring terminal that gets bolted behind the fan shroud. The other wire I ran to a two prong toggle switch. The 2nd lead I ran all the way back to where that ring terminal was bolted, but could have used any metal (like the frame). Or could have used a one prong switch that grounds with mounting.

The next time I used the wire from the gold relay box thing. Disconnect the Low Oil Sensor and use the wire from the box, not the one coming from the block. I put a butt connector on a wire and ran it to a one prong momentary push button switch. This grounds to the frame (handlebars). Could have used a two prong switch and ran a wire to a ground of my liking.

Both leave you with two kill switches. One in the original location. And a remote one you put where you want.

I have heard people say they heard of people who were using momentary push button switches who say the engine started back up if the button wasn't held down long enough. I have yet to experience this.
Attached Images
 
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bob58o For This Useful Post:
ezcome-ezgo (01-25-2018), mckutzy (01-25-2018)
  #13  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:08 AM
TT540 TT540 is offline
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 339
Thanks: 11
Thanked 95 Times in 88 Posts
Default

Do people delete the low oil sensor because the oil splashes around and can cut off the engine at random times while driving? I was planning on leaving mine in just as insurance.

Oh, and I am going to work this into mine. have a hand full laying around.

  #14  
Old 01-25-2018, 09:53 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,356
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

Yes, the oil switch turn off the engine going hard right turns I think... But ya its just a small plug, and no need to open the engine..

Equally speaking, doing regular check before you do a ride....Like check the oil, check the clutch(or tc if need be)... then carry on...

Never Had I problem with a momentary push button switch.... a ~1second depression kills it enough that the motor doesnt have enough momentum to carry on another spark to fire...

A toggle switch guard is kinda unnecessary but it kinda looks cool...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #15  
Old 01-25-2018, 10:03 AM
Whitetrashrocker's Avatar
Whitetrashrocker Whitetrashrocker is offline
Inmate #952016
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 303
Thanked 806 Times in 625 Posts
Default

I put a toggle switch on the steering wheel. In case of emergency it's easy to flip.

When using the little gold box with a momentary switch, once the button is pressed it's game over. Engine off.

Have had my throttle stick WOT a few times and with the momentary your dead on the track. Gotta get out and unstick the throttle and restart the engine.

With the toggle, if that happens I can cut power and turn back on at will and limp back to the garage under power.
__________________
Think for yourself, Question authority.
  #16  
Old 01-25-2018, 10:08 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,356
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

Yes there is advantages to the systems involved and on what vehicle.... Proper training of course is always prime.
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.