Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Old 08-06-2019, 11:09 AM

Default Adult 2 seater offroad restoration project - come and get involved!

Hello all!

So i have always wanted to grab an old go kart and restore it, new engine, taken down to bare metal and painted, all parts either new or reconditioned and fast as ****. I now have the proper tools and a needy frame. Im not exactly sure what brand name this go kart was but whatever lol. The frame set me back $120 delivered to my house so i think i did ok there. The frame does need some sections replaced at first glance and ill know more once i get it disassembled and ground down to bare metal.

I am new to this type of thing. I restore old boats and flip them for profit and id like to do this to the kart as well. I have high experience in wiring and electricity.. I dont exactly have experience doing this but i learn ultra fast and thats why im here! Im here to get advice and help to see me through this first project. I do have most if not all tools required for this project including metal working gear.

I need a clear direction to go in with budget considered. The sky is the limit...

Expectations: $900 budget

I want this old 2 seater offroad kart to fly....im thinking 50-60mph on asphalt (solo), and be torquey enough for the trails and hills and carrying 500lb adult loads.

A solid engine that is up-gradable, both on the cheap if possible. I have been looking at engines.... predator 420cc and the duramax 18hp engine. I AM VERY OPEN TO ENGINE IDEAS even if they are from a 4 wheeler or a motorcycle...what it takes to mount the engine and parts/upgrades considered. All advice is appreciated. I would be looking at the 670cc engines but i dont want to blow the entire budget on the engine.

New wheels and tires. I want an aggressive stance maybe the rear of the kart sitting higher than the front... awesome wheels and tires as cheaply as possible.

New suspension