Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2019, 04:19 PM
YeaProbably YeaProbably is offline
i tinker...
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default idk how to setup a torque converter

I have the same engine as coleman ct200u in a gokart its a honda clone/ off brand predator 79cc but it has 98cc.https://www.walmart.com/ip/Coleman-Powersports-100cc-Gas-Powered-Go-kart-Black-and-Red/480257966?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=0&adid =22222222227102818906&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=2176680 19152&wl4=aud-566049426705:pla-353066965138&wl5=9010842&wl6=&wl7=&wl8=&wl9=pla&wl 10=8175035&wl11=online&wl12=480257966&veh=sem&gcli d=Cj0KCQjwvdXpBRCoARIsAMJSKqKt8vaiwqyJ7ZHcBesjkSUJ R-snm2O7V3PQHI-8x7QSVdwmFysoVd0aAhQxEALw_wcBi was planning on putting this torque converter on it https://www.amazon.com/Torque-Conver...05416315&psc=1 but i have no idea how i would do it. there a picture of the clutch and the current gear setup VVVVV(dont message about how bad the clutch is ik)
a few questions:
1.where do i put the clutch with the torque converter?
2.what do i do with my other gears?
3.how do i attach the torque converter to my other gears?(i can move my engine if needed)
4.does the torque converter replace the clutch?
Attached Thumbnails
download (1).jpg   download.jpg  


Last edited by YeaProbably; 07-22-2019 at 04:20 PM. Reason: wrong wording
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2019, 09:19 PM
Zombient68 Zombient68 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's not a torque converter, fam. That looks like a setup that's trying to gear it down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2019, 10:10 PM
mckutzy mckutzy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,347
Thanks: 813
Thanked 1,753 Times in 1,447 Posts
Default

Your kart doesn't need a TC, could use a new 212...
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mckutzy For This Useful Post:
YeaProbably (07-31-2019)
  #4  
Old 07-23-2019, 11:47 PM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,235
Thanks: 2,062
Thanked 3,410 Times in 2,778 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckutzy View Post
Your kart doesn't need a TC, could use a new 212...
I would probably agree with Mkutzy here. Once you have a larger engine, you will probably not need a TC and you could just use the gearing that you have.

If you do want a TC, there are many examples of them on the website. I would snoop around a few threads and check them out.
Comet identification, installation and belts. Sprocket and spring changes. Have a look at these links to see what you are getting

http://www.gokartsupply.com/identify.htm
http://www.gokartsupply.com/tcbelts.htm
http://www.bmikarts.com/PDF/Comet_40series.pdf

We can always help you get going if you want one. You will not need the centrifugal clutch that you have on your kart now if you get a TC.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to landuse For This Useful Post:
YeaProbably (07-31-2019)
  #5  
Old 07-31-2019, 05:13 PM
YeaProbably YeaProbably is offline
i tinker...
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i was thinking about getting a 212

---------- Post added at 07:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombient68 View Post
That's not a torque converter, fam. That looks like a setup that's trying to gear it down.
i know its not a torque converter i was talking about getting one lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2019, 07:24 PM
mrdeadman1 mrdeadman1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lawrence area, Kansas
Posts: 127
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

ok well if you get a 30 series tav it just bolts on, no guess work it's pretty straight forward.

---------- Post added at 08:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 PM ----------

also that 3 hp engine isnt going to do it. it would be the same as the ct100 not the 200 it uses a 196 cc engine
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2019, 03:35 PM
YeaProbably YeaProbably is offline
i tinker...
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

my dad says the go kart is too small for that engine D=
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2019, 05:59 PM
mrdeadman1 mrdeadman1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lawrence area, Kansas
Posts: 127
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

it'll bolt in I put a predator in my coleman ct100u mini bike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.