Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Electric Projects

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2010, 01:37 PM
Ramblin Man Ramblin Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Whats missing on this treadmill motor/controller wiring setup?

[SEE PIC...yellow wire=white wire, by the way]

Disclosure: I am an electronic/electrical moron, keep that in mind.

I bought this box lot of treadmill motor/controller/belt/5k pot/etc. in the hopes of building a variable speed wood lathe.This is how it was in the box. It seems right except I dont know whats missing (at lower left of pic). Black wire and Blue wire ends have female spade connectors. Connecting to what?
If a switch, maybe, to each other, I cant see the AC volt is suppossed to connect to the DC motor. Again, what do I know.
Thanks
  #2  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:27 PM
wingnut wingnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Green wire is probably earth ground comming off the receptical. I'd guess is that all the green wires were grounded to the body of the treadmill.
Not sure I follow what the black rectangle in the lower left corner is. It has six wires coming ou of it. One blue is going to the motor and one black is going to the receptical. Are the others connected to anything? Are the same color wires coming out of the black box actually two ends of the same wire?
Also, I don't understand what the figure is on the upper right.
Have you tried googling for the model number of the motor?
  #3  
Old 04-04-2010, 02:37 PM
Ramblin Man Ramblin Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I tried googling and going to the Proform treadmill website..no luck, thats why I'm here.

Sorry, I know the drawing sucks.

The lower left rectangle is just a 3 wire cord. Not 6 wires but 3 going thru.

The upper right is a choke, i guess its called. Not sure of its function, maybe some sort of resistance or ??

I have since been told that the blue and black wires go the a switch. I kinda figured, but wasn't sure because it doesn't make sense to me that a 110v AC would connect at all to a DC motor. Just trying to get some definite confirmation that all I need is a switch. Dont want to burn things up before I even get started.
  #4  
Old 04-05-2010, 05:35 PM
kibble's Avatar
kibble kibble is offline
I banned myself
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,766
Thanks: 35
Thanked 129 Times in 114 Posts
Default

It looks like, and I think, it's supposed to go to a switch to allow the unit to power on. Apparently, it goes through the motor as well, probably to an overload/overheat switch so that power to everything cuts off in the event there is too much load on the motor (the blue wires).
__________________
"At the enrichment center we believe that if at first you don't succeed, you fail." GLaDOS - Portal

Last edited by kibble; 04-05-2010 at 10:22 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:48 AM
Ramblin Man Ramblin Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I just wired the blue and black together and EVERYTHING WORKS!! Knowing that now, I have more questions:

How do I wire up another motor I have (36 v DC scooter motor) that only has the 2 wires (red/black) instead of using the treadmill motor?

If I ran the motor on batteries, do I need the controller at all?... and how do I then wire up the 5k pot to make the motor variable speed?
  #6  
Old 04-06-2010, 01:59 PM
zabac70 zabac70 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Brushless motors need controller , brushed motors don't (in general). You'll need controller to hook up your pot, cause it (5k pot) can't withstand amount of current that motor pulls (pots usually works 0-5 V and they use some mA (miliAmps)). Scooter motors(any kind) are usually paired with controller , in order to control acceleration and current flow. Since your scooter motor has only two wires , it should be brushed motor. You can run it strait from batteries , but it'll be on or off. Brushless DC motors have more wires .
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.