Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Engines & Clutches

Notices

Old 01-21-2020, 06:17 PM

Default Cam question

All right all my parts finally came in for a build. Disassembled motor got all the new parts out and ready and I noticed my new cam has a rough Edge on one of the lobes no and both lobes overall have a sharp edge. I’m no expert But my logical brain tells me this is not good. I was wondering if this is normal with a CL-bp2 cam. Or if anybody else has had this problem I got the cam from ARC It’s a Dyno cam. Also I did a test fit of cam to crank and the crank is hitting on the exhaust lobe of the cam is this normal? Am I able to grind down the crank shaft for clearance? Thanks -will also srry if this is in the wrong thread feel free to move it I’m still learning this forum..
Attached Thumbnails
6AA93575-2FF2-412B-9555-B09188270C54.jpg   6BB868DB-79D7-49A7-B0A6-A0FA7641218C.jpg  

49B2D116-AA2F-499B-9C25-D950C8A21B74.jpg  

Last edited by buildinthrillz; 01-21-2020 at 06:28 PM. Reason: Trying to add a picture
Old 01-21-2020, 06:48 PM
The great cornholio

Thanked 1,052 Times in 743 Posts

As long as the face of the lobe is nice it should be fine, I’ve seen guys have to cut into the lines for clearance on a big stroker. I often have to grind the crank a little on my builds too, you just gotta make it all fit.
buildinthrillz (01-21-2020)
Old 01-21-2020, 07:08 PM

Thanks man just wanted to be sure before I went to town.
Old 01-22-2020, 12:29 AM

Yes. I had a mod 2 that was much rougher cast than stock. I contacted DynoCams and they said it’s fine to grind down the interference area. I used an air sander with a 1/2” wide belt. If you search my username and posts you will find my thread with all information and pictures.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mrmonk7663 For This Useful Post:
buildinthrillz (01-22-2020)
Old 01-22-2020, 04:48 AM