Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > All Other Parts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-10-2019, 10:20 AM
Dingocat's Avatar
Dingocat Dingocat is offline
Broke
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 371
Thanks: 30
Thanked 74 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Good luck. I'll eventually build an engine but until then I'll rock ungoverned engines.
__________________
Current Manco hoarder
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dingocat For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (10-10-2019)
  #22  
Old 10-10-2019, 01:55 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

Dang, just realized our nice Craftsman torque wrench is 1/2" drive, and we don't have any sockets small enough.
We have a cheapo torque wrench that's an 1/8" (I believe) drive, but the minimum setting is 120 in/lbs. And it's inaccurate since we failed to reset it before.
So, I guess a trip to Horror Fright is due.

---------- Post added at 11:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:55 AM ----------

Ah, oops, just remembered we have a torsion bar(?) wrench. Anyway, it's the one with the meter and the bar, and I believe it's 1/4" drive, in which case it would work. Hopefully.
•MERGED•
Darn, dad's messy garage came back and bit me in the butt.
I know we have a beam torque wrench somewhere, but I absolutely can't find it.
So unless he knows where it is I'm gonna have to sink $20 into a Harbor Freight torque wrench.
Since this is the only foreseeable use of this torque wrench, it'll probably be fine, but at the same time, it's $20!
I tried calling the local auto parts store(Pep Boys), and asked if they rented out torque wrenches, but they referred me to another store that could, and then they just put me on hold for a while.
So, I guess I'll try again sometime, but if not, back to Hazard Fraught!

---------- Post added at 02:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:32 PM ----------

Also, I was reading in my Haynes manual, something about "locking plates" for the con rod. I believe it was for lawn mower engines, but just checking.
From what the manual says, it looks like a little plate inserted between the rod and the rod cap.
Obviously that's not applicable to my Raptor rod, since it's notched to only fit together one way, but it just seems kinda funny to me that there's not even locking tabs on the cap bolts. *shrug*
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut

Last edited by itsid; 10-10-2019 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-10-2019, 07:38 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,773
Thanks: 595
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Go to HFT and buy an ICON 3/8" torque wrench. https://www.harborfreight.com/38-in-...nch-64065.html
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-11-2019, 01:18 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,316
Thanks: 2,102
Thanked 3,446 Times in 2,809 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
Go to HFT and buy an ICON 3/8" torque wrench. https://www.harborfreight.com/38-in-...nch-64065.html
Dang!! That thing is $90
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:09 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

I wish I could, but I can only afford the $20 Pittsburgh one. Junk, I know, but it's basically just for two bolts.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:10 AM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,773
Thanks: 595
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by landuse View Post
Dang!! That thing is $90
It's on par with majority of the big name stuff price wise. I mean a Tekton would be cheaper, however no idea of the quality of it and Tekton are not easy to find.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-11-2019, 07:49 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,316
Thanks: 2,102
Thanked 3,446 Times in 2,809 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartorbust View Post
It's on par with majority of the big name stuff price wise. I mean a Tekton would be cheaper, however no idea of the quality of it and Tekton are not easy to find.
In my currency it is pretty expensive

I hear what you are saying though
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-11-2019, 09:12 AM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 835
Thanks: 782
Thanked 438 Times in 340 Posts
Default

Give this a shot.

Be sure to break it in first.
Attached Thumbnails
1570806577738.jpg  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Randy H For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (10-11-2019)
  #29  
Old 10-11-2019, 09:36 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

Perfect! THANK YOU!

---------- Post added at 10:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 AM ----------

By the way, how and why does one break in a torque wrench?
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JTSpeedDemon For This Useful Post:
Randy H (10-11-2019)
  #30  
Old 10-11-2019, 09:54 AM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 835
Thanks: 782
Thanked 438 Times in 340 Posts
Default

Use it like a regular ratchet on stuff. Loosen it up.

Ideally you would compare it to a known high quality torque wrench.

Jody Powell from ARC did a video on it. I'm not sure which video. But you should watch them all anyways. Lol
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Randy H For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (10-11-2019)
  #31  
Old 10-11-2019, 08:49 PM
Kentucky Boy's Avatar
Kentucky Boy Kentucky Boy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 580
Thanks: 188
Thanked 183 Times in 143 Posts
Default

You shouldn’t loosen tight bolts with a torque wrench. Use a regular wrench to loosen and use the torque wrench to tighten.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kentucky Boy For This Useful Post:
itsid (10-12-2019), JTSpeedDemon (10-12-2019)
  #32  
Old 10-14-2019, 12:53 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

Ok, phew.
Dad found the deflecting beam torque wrench, and it's 3/8" drive.
*SELF MERGED*

I finally have time and all the tools/parts needed to install the rod and remove the governor, but I have a question on the gov removal.

Can I just leave the governor arm intact after removing the gov gear?
I don't want to try to make my own throttle linkage, so I'd like to utilize the exterior components. That, and I don't have a Dremel to cut the arm off.
I just want to make sure the arm won't hit anything if I leave it in.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:58 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,773
Thanks: 595
Thanked 745 Times in 627 Posts
Default

Leaving the arm intact and not removing it can potentially cause problems. It's best to remove it all together and thread the hole it came out of for a bolt.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-14-2019, 05:09 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

Well I was just thinking: the carb has a throttle stop on it to keep the butterfly from going too far, and as long as the governor arm is still part of the linkage, it would still keep the gov arm inside the engine from hitting anything.
If it were to hit something, that would mean it would've either been hitting in stock form, or something went terribly wrong with the throttle plate.

Basically my plan is to remove JUST the governor gear mechanism.

In my head it all works, but I want y'all's input.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-14-2019, 05:35 PM
Dingocat's Avatar
Dingocat Dingocat is offline
Broke
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 371
Thanks: 30
Thanked 74 Times in 61 Posts
Default

I did it on a GX160, been riding it for about 6 months, haven't blown it up.
__________________
Current Manco hoarder
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dingocat For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (10-14-2019)
  #36  
Old 10-15-2019, 07:46 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

It's off the kart and on the workbench.......
Taking a break for family stuff, but I plan to at least do part of it today!
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-15-2019, 03:32 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

wenee9w and Randy H,
Here's a question for you:
wenee recommended an oil clearance of 0.003 to 0.002
Unfortunately he never told me if that was in mm or inches.
What unit is it in?
I'm at the point where I'm measuring the oil clearance, and I'm not 100% sure I've gotten an accurate reading yet, but I need to know before I put it back together.
P.S - Governor is staying in until I'm positive it's got good oil clearance.

---------- Post added at 04:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:39 PM ----------

Got a much more precise measurement. Oil clearance is at least 0.0015 inches, probably more, since it rotated a bit while torquing it down. Which would smear it.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-15-2019, 03:37 PM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 835
Thanks: 782
Thanked 438 Times in 340 Posts
Default

https://web.archive.org/web/19990430...arcracing.com/

Measuring rod clearance is best performed with the crank out. Rod secured in a vise.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-15-2019, 04:17 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,272
Thanks: 578
Thanked 310 Times in 282 Posts
Default

Yeah I'll probably do that.
He said 0.0015 is about the minimum, in which case I'd think I should run heavier oil at least?
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-15-2019, 04:26 PM
Randy H Randy H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 835
Thanks: 782
Thanked 438 Times in 340 Posts
Default

I'd think about heavier weight oil if your clearance is over .0035"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 PM.