Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 07-05-2019, 07:23 AM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ok so I’ll stay with the TC and put my order in.

---------- Post added at 08:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:19 AM ----------

My sheave is toast? I think it will be ok for a little while, but when I get ready which one should I order?
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 07-05-2019, 07:48 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,074
Thanks: 2,002
Thanked 3,366 Times in 2,739 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillMatrix View Post
Ok so Iíll stay with the TC and put my order in.

---------- Post added at 08:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:19 AM ----------

My sheave is toast? I think it will be ok for a little while, but when I get ready which one should I order?
When I say toast, I just mean that the pitting has reached the stage where you will get excessive belt wear. It will still work, but you will be replacing belts at a fair rate.

When looking to buy a new driven, just search amazon, ebay etc for a 7" driven for a 30 series. Just make sure that you get one with the correct diameter to fit on your jackshaft (5/8" or 3/4"). Like the one below

https://www.amazon.com/30-Torque-Con...gateway&sr=8-8
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 07-05-2019, 08:38 AM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by landuse View Post
When I say toast, I just mean that the pitting has reached the stage where you will get excessive belt wear. It will still work, but you will be replacing belts at a fair rate.

When looking to buy a new driven, just search amazon, ebay etc for a 7" driven for a 30 series. Just make sure that you get one with the correct diameter to fit on your jackshaft (5/8" or 3/4"). Like the one below

https://www.amazon.com/30-Torque-Con...gateway&sr=8-8
Thank you for the clarity. Iím going to order more then one belt and the metal bushing.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:38 AM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

If you decide to replace the torque converter assembly you can buy the one in that link I posted. It comes with everything you need. You may actually save money in the long run just to buy it because it has the belt and bushing you are going to order anyway. And it's the one for your kart. Go back and look at the links I posted. I didn't realize your converter was that rusted out until you cleaned it up. So as others have said it's pretty much too far gone. 99 bucks is a fair price for the kit in the link. It has a 7 inch driven which is ideal for the big Murray.
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 07-10-2019, 04:57 PM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ok guys I need some serious help! I ordered the stage one kit and ordered my belt for my TC, well at least I thought I did. Here are the pictures of the belts.
Attached Thumbnails
14E26359-0ECE-4176-9855-FF976DCCAE2D.jpg   61FD8F85-88E0-4203-A1E3-B1EA498A51F2.jpg  

BC9297D9-F32E-47E9-8FE0-8739B23F290F.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 07-10-2019, 06:58 PM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Why did you buy that belt? I left you links back on page 6 showing you exactly what belt to buy. The link was to belt 203597. But no you didn't buy that belt you bought belt 203589. The belt you bought is for a torque-a-verter tav2 unit. It will not work because your unit is running on a jackshaft plate. Your unit needs a longer belt. Why didn't you use the link I provided you man? Or at least use the belt number? I have tried my best to keep this thread rolling and keep you on the right track I swear. All I want is for you to succeed and get that go-kart halfway right... that's all. That's really all.

This is a picture of my Murray Explorer with the torque converter. I'm not going to even say it's close to being right...but it works really well I promise.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190710_193847639.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	308.7 KB
ID:	109788

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190710_193834139.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	443.1 KB
ID:	109789

That belt looks really tight, but it ain't....
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 07-10-2019, 07:00 PM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

I'm just frustrated right now...this frustrates me... I'll be back later...I need a beer...
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 07-10-2019, 07:25 PM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

This unit pictured below is a torque-a-verter tav2 unit.

Both units are series 30. The torque-a-verter tav2 unit is self contained unit that bolts onto the engine. Notice the backplate and the sprocket placement. It does not have the big jack plate under the engine. Often these units have a big plastic cover over them. I opted to keep mine off for ease of maintenance.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190710_201814450.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	395.1 KB
ID:	109790

Notice also how close the clutches are and how far apart the ones are on the Murray Explorer...this is why we need the different belt...the Murray Explorer takes the longer belt...the 203597
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 07-11-2019, 02:27 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,074
Thanks: 2,002
Thanked 3,366 Times in 2,739 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillMatrix View Post
Ok guys I need some serious help! I ordered the stage one kit and ordered my belt for my TC, well at least I thought I did. Here are the pictures of the belts.
You bought the wrong belt
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:44 AM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWes View Post
This unit pictured below is a torque-a-verter tav2 unit.

Both units are series 30. The torque-a-verter tav2 unit is self contained unit that bolts onto the engine. Notice the backplate and the sprocket placement. It does not have the big jack plate under the engine. Often these units have a big plastic cover over them. I opted to keep mine off for ease of maintenance.

Attachment 109790

Notice also how close the clutches are and how far apart the ones are on the Murray Explorer...this is why we need the different belt...the Murray Explorer takes the longer belt...the 203597

Hey bigWes it will never happen again
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 07-11-2019, 07:24 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 342
Thanked 178 Times in 165 Posts
Default

Yikes, in less than a month this thread has racked up ~130 posts!
Might be a forum record!
Just thought I'd point that out, caught my eye.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 07-11-2019, 07:46 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,074
Thanks: 2,002
Thanked 3,366 Times in 2,739 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTSpeedDemon View Post
Yikes, in less than a month this thread has racked up ~130 posts!
Might be a forum record!
Just thought I'd point that out, caught my eye.
Definitely not a forum record
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to landuse For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (07-11-2019)
  #133  
Old 07-11-2019, 01:01 PM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

My engine is also leaking oil from where the pullstart and the body connects smh
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 07-11-2019, 01:25 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 342
Thanked 178 Times in 165 Posts
Default

Your flywheel side oil seal is probably bad. Take off the flywheel/other components and replace the seal.
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 07-11-2019, 01:26 PM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillMatrix View Post
Hey bigWes it will never happen again
My apologies sir. I was in a bad way yesterday.

Perhaps I should drop out of this discussion and let someone else pick up in my place.

On a good note, notice how the new belt stays on the outside diameter of the clutch like it belongs and doesn't go down inside the clutch pulley like the old belt did... that's a good sign.
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 07-12-2019, 05:51 AM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTSpeedDemon View Post
Your flywheel side oil seal is probably bad. Take off the flywheel/other components and replace the seal.
It always seems to be leaking from the bottom screws.

Edit: it’s coming from the other side and leaking through the bottom
Attached Thumbnails
C382C2FF-F682-4B2F-BA09-45DA78F48FA4.jpg   203494DE-09B7-4C8B-B7C7-954400CB93C9.jpg  

Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 07-12-2019, 08:11 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 342
Thanked 178 Times in 165 Posts
Default

Hmm?
Where are you talking about?
Are you saying it's leaking from the bottom of the block?
Or if it's on the "other side", you may simply have a bad sidecover gasket.
Where EXACTLY are you talking about?
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 07-12-2019, 01:08 PM
WillMatrix WillMatrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

It’s the side cover gasket. I might have to order it because nobody around me has it
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WillMatrix For This Useful Post:
JTSpeedDemon (07-12-2019)
  #139  
Old 07-12-2019, 01:41 PM
BigWes's Avatar
BigWes BigWes is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 384
Thanks: 32
Thanked 131 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Or you could just use some permatex ultra copper rtv, that's what I do.
__________________
This ain't rocket science boys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 07-12-2019, 02:25 PM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is online now
Currently flathead-crazed
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 342
Thanked 178 Times in 165 Posts
Default

You know, my engine seemed to leak oil from the sidecover gasket for a while, but that is now not a problem.
I'd run it a bit and see if it stops(keeping track of how much oil is in it!)
__________________
Local Bird Engineering Nut
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.