Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Mini Bikes, Trikes, and Choppers

Notices

Old 01-11-2020, 08:08 PM

Default Gear ratio help I'm new to this.

Hello I'm building a bike for the first time. If I'm using 26" tires a predator 212 and a torque converter what would you recommend for a gear ratio? If you need more Info let me know I'll try to give it to you. I know to an extent its personal preference but a good baseline would be great. I heard you can do either lower or higher ratio with a torque converter so I decided to get some help.
Old 01-11-2020, 08:34 PM
2019 Build Off Winner!

26" tires?? Are they mountain bike tires per chance?

You want to shoot for at least around an 8:1 gear ratio to keep from burning up the belt with those kind of big tires..
Shax90 (01-11-2020)
Old 01-11-2020, 10:36 PM

Yes they are I'm scrapping some bikes to make the build cheaper. Do you think that will be a huge problem?

---------- Post added at 11:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTSpeedDemon View Post
26" tires?? Are they mountain bike tires per chance?

You want to shoot for at least around an 8:1 gear ratio to keep from burning up the belt with those kind of big tires..
I have to go pick up the bike still but they look to be 26 once I get it I'll measure to make sure. I also like the look of the bigger bike tires than the mini bike tires is there another size that's still kind of large that would work better? I'm building it to look more like a motor cycle than a mini bike. Kinda like a moped. I also have a centrifugal clutch do you think that would be better for larger tires?
Old 01-12-2020, 07:32 AM
2019 Build Off Winner!

Mountain bike tires won't work, just scrap that idea now. They won't hold up to that kind of power, and you'll have a headache matching the bolt circle to a sprocket. If you want a dirt bike look, track down some dirt bike wheels.