Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:33 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 71
Thanked 506 Times in 441 Posts
Default

r97 that is certanly a buggy worth looking into the power would be imense
imagine a motorcycle ****le engine

modelengineer i never knew what I\C stood for but yeah it is
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #22  
Old 08-25-2010, 10:59 AM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

rotary engines are not only considered i/c but there also 4-stroke, its basically piston engine vs jumbo triangle, lol
  #23  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:15 AM
sideways's Avatar
sideways sideways is offline
Unfinished projects king.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,501
Thanks: 50
Thanked 164 Times in 115 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r97 View Post
rotary engines are not only considered i/c but there also 4-stroke, its basically piston engine vs jumbo triangle, lol
They are not 4 strokes as they do not "stroke". They go round and round not up and down. The output shaft also turns 3 times for every revolution of the rotor and the the rotor has three sides so it fires once every revolution. That's like a 2 stroke, not a 4 stroke. It's still not either of those though.

Hayden
  #24  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:19 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 71
Thanked 506 Times in 441 Posts
Default

if anything its either a 3 stroke cause each side fires once each revolution or its a 1 stroke cause at every stage there is a side fireing
it depends if u compare it to a 1 cylender or a 3 cylender
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #25  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:54 AM
modelengineer modelengineer is offline
Lord of the noise
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,608
Thanks: 2
Thanked 100 Times in 94 Posts
Default

I don't think it's possible to classify a rotary as a type of "stroke". The rotor doesn't stroke up and down like a piston. If anything it's a 2-stroke as it fires every revolution of the output shaft, the same as a 2-stroke piston engine. If you're taking it as revolutions of the rotor then it fires 3 times every revolution, making it a 2/3rd stroke engine.

In other words, I completely agree with what Hayden said
__________________
Andrew
GS500F powered...
  #26  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:56 AM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

dang, more websites lying to me, i hate it when this happens
  #27  
Old 08-26-2010, 08:21 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 71
Thanked 506 Times in 441 Posts
Default

yes i guess so
but yeah it really fits into its own area
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #28  
Old 08-26-2010, 09:08 AM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

this website says its 4-stroke, http://www.freedom-motors.com/index....d=97&Itemid=77
  #29  
Old 08-26-2010, 09:14 AM
fowler's Avatar
fowler fowler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bullsbrook West Aus
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 71
Thanked 506 Times in 441 Posts
Default

noobs
their engines are not even being produced yet
__________________
That's not an oil leak
It's horsepower sweat
  #30  
Old 08-26-2010, 11:14 AM
redsox985's Avatar
redsox985 redsox985 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 4,092
Thanks: 57
Thanked 208 Times in 187 Posts
Default

They make some pretty big claims there too. 18hp out of a 150cc motor. I think they're basing 4 stroke off of the fact that it runs on gasoline not mix. If they were to say it's a 2/3rd stroke like posted above, this forum would be the only google result simply because modelengineer just conceived the idea.
  #31  
Old 08-26-2010, 12:53 PM
Rotore Rotore is offline
Teh SPIK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Caguas, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,663
Thanks: 23
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

those engines are in the $2k-3k range eeeeeeeeeeeehh

modelengineer idk dude but yes i think it has to do with it not being a piston engine.
__________________
"No one is going to open doors for you your whole life, sometimes you have to open the dor yourself." Eddy
  #32  
Old 08-26-2010, 04:13 PM
KieranM's Avatar
KieranM KieranM is offline
Doin It!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland
Posts: 1,409
Thanks: 90
Thanked 124 Times in 85 Posts
Default

yep as redsox said, they only say 4 stroke because its not a mix, the could also say 6 stroke but lets not go there hahaha ( just by it using straight petrol/gas obviously)
  #33  
Old 08-26-2010, 05:06 PM
Rotore Rotore is offline
Teh SPIK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Caguas, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,663
Thanks: 23
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

It'd be kinda cool to hace one of those sachs 303's
__________________
"No one is going to open doors for you your whole life, sometimes you have to open the dor yourself." Eddy
  #34  
Old 08-26-2010, 05:19 PM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

i read some where people put oil in the gas sometimes because the oil ends-up in the same place as the gas(maybe i got lied to again, lol)
  #35  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:43 PM
Kenny_McCormic Kenny_McCormic is offline
Kartless....
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan Troll
Posts: 4,537
Thanks: 10
Thanked 201 Times in 182 Posts
Default

Real serious people reroute their injection pump to run on a bottle of 2 stroke oil instead of 4 stroke oil(which isn't really made to burn). It still needs 4 stoke oil in circulation for bearings and whatnot.
  #36  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:50 PM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

ha! i wasn't lied to! (this time, lol)
  #37  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:52 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,207 Times in 1,693 Posts
Default

These 2-3-4 "Stroke" debates might be more clear if we use the word "cycle" Let's face it, nothing's "stroking" here, but there IS a cycle...

As for the oil mix thing- I never knew that. So do all those millions of Mazdas have an oil tank like a sled that has to be refilled on a regular basis? What sort of oil was (is) required?

EDIT- I just did a bunch of searching, it is indeed by definition a "Four Cycle" engine. Havent found anything on the oil yet...
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #38  
Old 08-26-2010, 08:05 PM
modelengineer modelengineer is offline
Lord of the noise
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,608
Thanks: 2
Thanked 100 Times in 94 Posts
Default

The mazda's burn the engine oil. A little pump pumps it into the inlet as it runs. You have to top up with oil occassionally. Lots of people, as said above, get rid of the little oil pump and run pre-mix 2-stroke oil.
__________________
Andrew
GS500F powered...
  #39  
Old 08-26-2010, 08:14 PM
Doc Sprocket's Avatar
Doc Sprocket Doc Sprocket is offline
*********
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,677
Thanks: 723
Thanked 2,207 Times in 1,693 Posts
Default

So- What? It feeds from the crankcase? That's kind of a weird arrangement... Wonder what that does to the whole oil change interval thing... Come to think of it- Emissions tests? Ouch!
__________________
Treat it as you would an aircraft frame and you should have no problems. -Name Withheld
The Manual- "Just the manufacturer's opinion of how to put this together."- Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!- Me!
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
  #40  
Old 08-26-2010, 09:15 PM
r97's Avatar
r97 r97 is offline
Measure twice cut once
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 39
Thanked 250 Times in 229 Posts
Default

wouldn't a rotary not have a crank case? and its not a weird arrangement just the best way of getting oil to the components. i'm not completely sure but don't rotary engines score better on emission testing , i don't think they go through oil horribly fast though, i'm not completely sure, this is a new topic for me!
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.