Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:37 PM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default My first kart

Hi building my first kart, can anybody help?

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #2  
Old 01-15-2014, 04:25 PM
OzFab's Avatar
OzFab OzFab is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Warwick Qld, Australia
Posts: 15,619
Thanks: 1,135
Thanked 3,399 Times in 2,676 Posts
Default

We all can, just as soon as you fill in your profile then tell us what you want to build: street kart, yard kart, off-roader, what type/size engine. Give us as much detail as you can so we can provide the best advice...

Wlecome to the forum
__________________
2013 Build-off Winner - http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=21076
  #3  
Old 01-15-2014, 05:20 PM
firemanjim's Avatar
firemanjim firemanjim is offline
Just kartin' around....
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 5,191
Thanks: 1,056
Thanked 1,385 Times in 1,097 Posts
Default

__________________
(@@)@@(@@)@@-@@@@@@ (@@)@@-@@@@@@-@@@
  #4  
Old 01-15-2014, 06:17 PM
jandj's Avatar
jandj jandj is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Williamsburg, Va
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 34
Thanked 452 Times in 315 Posts
Default

Don't use 2x4's and hinges.
  #5  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:31 PM
OzFab's Avatar
OzFab OzFab is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Warwick Qld, Australia
Posts: 15,619
Thanks: 1,135
Thanked 3,399 Times in 2,676 Posts
Default

__________________
2013 Build-off Winner - http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=21076
  #6  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:58 PM
Poboy kartman Poboy kartman is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: White Settlement Texas
Posts: 12,463
Thanks: 3,769
Thanked 2,954 Times in 2,300 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jandj View Post
Don't use 2x4's and hinges.
Well if it weren't for 24's and hinges I wouldn't have a job. ....WAIT!....I don't have a job. ..... Never mind- carry on.......
  #7  
Old 01-15-2014, 11:20 PM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,303
Thanks: 2,093
Thanked 3,438 Times in 2,803 Posts
Default

LOL. Welcome to the forum.

Help us help you...
  #8  
Old 01-15-2014, 11:30 PM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone! Im looking at build a basic first go kart with a bit of off road and on road, like a hybrid type of thing, it will be used on a dirt, grass and a bit of road. I needs to be quite quiet (if possible) with 3-5hp ish engine. If anyone has a go kart I could buy as a starting point, it would be much appreciated. Btw I can do basic welding

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #9  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:10 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,303
Thanks: 2,093
Thanked 3,438 Times in 2,803 Posts
Default

Your best bet would be to buy a rolling chassis from some place like Craigslist and go from there. As a first kart, it would be the easiest
  #10  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:11 AM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #11  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:13 AM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There all like 1000 +

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #12  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:32 AM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know this sounds stupid but how do I fill in my profile? :/

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #13  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:50 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,303
Thanks: 2,093
Thanked 3,438 Times in 2,803 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngengineer View Post
I know this sounds stupid but how do I fill in my profile? :/

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
Nope, not stupid. Click on your name and you will get a drop down where you can choose to go to your profile. Then click on the "About Me" tab and you can then fill your profile in

OR....click on the quick links link at the top right of the screec (ish) and choose your profile
  #14  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:57 AM
youngengineer youngengineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, think ive done it now

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
  #15  
Old 01-16-2014, 01:56 AM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 17,303
Thanks: 2,093
Thanked 3,438 Times in 2,803 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngengineer View Post
Thanks, think ive done it now

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk
Yup, I can see your location now
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.