Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Go Kart Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2018, 10:37 AM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No spark fix?

Ive been doing some searching found this on EBAY https://www.ebay.com/i/282556043519?chn=ps , i am wondering if this is a solution for those in a no spark situation like myself with a quantum carbide 150cc, i also plan to replace stator along with this. Am i correct saying that this will rewire the ignition too? Any suggestions/Ideas would be greatly appreciated
  #2  
Old 01-26-2018, 11:09 AM
mckutzy mckutzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 7,356
Thanks: 815
Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,449 Posts
Default

What's the motor?? Pics??
__________________
10yr+ club..... My current ride- http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=5461
  #3  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:03 PM
bob58o's Avatar
bob58o bob58o is offline
Sick, Tired, and in Debt
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Under the Rothschild Whip
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 2,245 Times in 1,738 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckutzy View Post
What's the motor?? Pics??
should be something like a 150cc GY6
https://www.ebay.com/i/161902468796?chn=ps
__________________
History doesn't repeat but it rhymes Name a successful fiat currency in the last 5k years
  #4  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:38 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's for a dc fired gy6 150cc asw quantum carbide
  #5  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:41 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pics
Attached Thumbnails
20180126_143518.jpg   20180126_143522.jpg  

20180126_143527.jpg  
  #6  
Old 01-26-2018, 01:23 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Start with getting two new stop switches or bypass them by connecting the green and blue striped wires together. One goes in the dash next to the key and the other goes in the power box cover at the engine. I don't see the rear power box cover though. Stop switches are kill switches. Refer to the wiring diagram in this manual: http://americanlandmaster.com/pdfs/L...al-14589R4.pdf

The other components you may need are the CDI module, the magneto and the coil. Manco/American Sportworks uses a DC module. The module would be the next thing to replace once the stop switch issue is resolved and you still have no spark.The magneto is behind the gold flywheel the cooling fan is bolted to. There is a special left hand thread puller needed to remove the flywheel. The coil has two wires on the base of it and the other end goes to the spark plug. Here is the parts breakdown: http://americanlandmaster.com/pdfs/g...1/7151_IPL.pdf

You'll at least need to eliminate the stop switches or replace them to check for spark. Keep us posted with your results. Reliable Go Karts should have everything you need.

Thanks, good luck.
  #7  
Old 01-26-2018, 01:34 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So your saying I connect these two together like this up by the ignition? I have a green and blue going into the two top holes of my cdi also. I have currently replaced cdi and ignition coil. My original question was more along the lines of if someone were to buy that setup I have in my op then would that be a total rewire and fix
Attached Thumbnails
20180126_153015.jpg  
  #8  
Old 01-26-2018, 01:38 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Rear powerbox cover has been gone for a long time lol along with airbox
  #9  
Old 01-26-2018, 05:22 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Those and the two that are supposed to go into the rear stop switch. No need to do a complete rewire I don't think. If the stop switches aren't working the spark is killed. Don't worry about the two at the CDI, look for two similar wires in the area of the power box cover. That eliminates the switches and you should get spark. Look at the schematic I sent earlier, you'll see the stop switch wiring there. They're opposite. Green on C on the rear one and green on NO on the front one.
Attached Thumbnails
stop_switch_wiring.jpg  
  #10  
Old 01-26-2018, 05:36 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Maybe there is only one stop switch on the Carbide, the Manco Helix has two. Email or call American Landmaster to verify.

http://americanlandmaster.com/WebSto...roducts_id=586

http://americanlandmaster.com/WebSto...&keyword=15271

---------- Post added at 07:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

It should start with the switch or switches installed correctly and the magneto working correctly.
  #11  
Old 01-27-2018, 03:33 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I remember it having one up front and one in back on the power box cover
  #12  
Old 01-27-2018, 08:25 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Then you'll need to find those wires and put a wire nut on those too. Everything that is supposed to be there has to be there for it to run. The wires for the rear stop switch are the same colors, just installed on the switches differently. I think I understand your main question though, you're wondering if you install that complete kit you posted will your kart be completely rewired. For the most part I would guess but I would do the basics for now just to get it running.
  #13  
Old 01-28-2018, 05:59 PM
leesiel's Avatar
leesiel leesiel is offline
Yardcart 196
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Savannah G.A.
Posts: 222
Thanks: 148
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Default

If you have a multimeter check the voltage coming out of your pickup. I've had to replace 2 pickups on a gy6 motor only a year old.
May not be your issue but can't hurt to check your voltages. https://www.buggydepot.com/tech-cent...uide-no-spark/ this helped me out alot.
__________________
The adventures of yardcart on YouTube. Check it out.
The Following User Says Thank You to leesiel For This Useful Post:
Nosandwich (01-28-2018)
  #14  
Old 01-29-2018, 06:21 AM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

After looking at the pictures of the kart, you may want to think about how involved you want to get with it. I see there is no carburetor, the brake caliper is laying on the kart floor, engine covers missing (unless they are in the kart somewhere), no battery. Hopefully you can get it going again but it may end up more trouble than it's worth. Don't mean to discourage you, just trying to save you some frustration. How did you determine there's no spark by the way?

Thanks
  #15  
Old 01-29-2018, 09:11 AM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No worries, I have all of that taken off, brakes are bad and carb is off so when I get spark all I need to do is soak and clean real well. I think my master cylinder is bad so I haven't had brakes in a while, just floor it and turn when I want to stop. We determined no spark from the usual test of trying to see the spark on the plug and also using a test light to be certain. Right now my main worry is getting it to crank and spin the tires. Will do more work on i5 when I get home from class and will get more pics up of wiring and meter readings if I can find one
  #16  
Old 01-29-2018, 09:54 AM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

So you're saying it used to run? "I haven't had brakes in a while, just floor it and turn when I want to stop." If it used to run, why is the front stop switch missing? Look at the steps in Leesile's post, very first thing suggested is check the stop or kill switches. I'm jumping out of this one. Hopefully everything works out for you.
  #17  
Old 01-29-2018, 10:13 AM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah it did, I lost the key for a while and tried to straight wire it but I wasn't able to and forgot how I originally had it wired
  #18  
Old 01-29-2018, 10:31 AM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

These forums are here to help people with their issues. In order to save time and get help, it's a good idea to tell the whole story so we can try to get you pointed in the right direction. Starting from the beginning would have saved a lot of time and effort. Saying you had no spark without letting us know exactly what you did to that point would have helped diagnose the problem. Something to consider next time you run into a problem.

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to Karttekk For This Useful Post:
Nosandwich (02-05-2018)
  #19  
Old 02-05-2018, 03:18 PM
sailor95 sailor95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok so I have a black with res strip wire coming from my stator that goes into a fuse, where is this supposed to be connected to
  #20  
Old 02-06-2018, 08:18 AM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 18
Thanked 142 Times in 121 Posts
Default

I only see one fuse in the schematic that goes in the power box on top of the engine compartment. The fuse connector goes between the voltage regulator and the starter relay. Should be a red wire, not black from what I'm seeing.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
kart_wiring.jpg  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 PM.