DIY Go Kart Forum

DIY Go Kart Forum (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/index.php)
-   Engines & Clutches (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Is it possible to use a torque converter on 1wd? (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=42023)

shewannameetkarty 09-09-2019 01:51 PM

Is it possible to use a torque converter on 1wd?
 
What the title says

JTSpeedDemon 09-09-2019 03:10 PM

Generally no.
It's very hard to get the chain alignment and clearances just right.

Dingocat 09-09-2019 03:37 PM

Is it possible? Yes. Is it worth it? No. You would have to move the engine sideways and probably up to fit it all. And then you would probably just spin the tire if you did get it to work.

anickode 09-09-2019 07:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dingocat (Post 532405)
Is it possible? Yes. Is it worth it? No. You would have to move the engine sideways and probably up to fit it all. And then you would probably just spin the tire if you did get it to work.

Unless you were building a reverse trike with a fat rear tire. Then, totally worth it. Otherwise, no.

jeffone 09-14-2019 05:54 PM

Anything is possible

BigWes 09-15-2019 02:02 PM

I bet you could leave a black mark on asphalt if you did though! But seriously, all you would do is smoke tires with it!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.