DIY Go Kart Forum

DIY Go Kart Forum (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/index.php)
-   Go Kart Discussion (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   help!! dont know what im doing (http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=8912)

chainuh 09-09-2010 12:31 AM

help!! dont know what im doing

5 Attachment(s)
hey guys im completely new with the go kart scene. i just picked up 2 go karts that are not running. where do i start to get them to run. i purchased it for my nephews and one of their bdays is this saturday. how i can i get them running in time. what do i need and how do i put them on. sorry to inconvenience you guys with this. also i would like to know how much i would be spending to get them running. thank you for the help

chainuh 09-09-2010 12:44 AM

5 Attachment(s)
here is the second go kart, the 2 seater

Bluethunder3320 09-09-2010 12:50 AM

well to start, i saw ur 2nd go karts chain is rusted BAD. might be able to use it just for a little longer, oil it.

begin proceedure.........
drain gas.
open carb bowls & clean them out.
check spark plug- check for spark.
refill the gas tanks with fresh.....
pour some gas into the carb to prime it if they dont start.

gee getting them running by saturday may be hard, if its a serious problem.
ive never really brought anything anywhere to get fixed.

it will usually run or at least pop if u have compression and spark.

chainuh 09-09-2010 01:02 AM

okay, well i didnt really get into too much detail on these karts, so here it goes:

go kart 1 (1 seater)
the engine works, but it doesnt have that spinning thing that connects to the tire, or whatever its called. there are no brakes (referring to picture 2) i dont know where or how to install it. for some reason i could tell that it doesnt go as far left than it does right. so i dont know how to fix that.

go kart 2 (2 seater)