PDA

View Full Version : torque converter belt slipping


dirtroaddrifter
08-27-2013, 08:37 PM
I have noticed that my belt on the torque converter is slipping. I'm almost positive that the belt that come with it isn't the right one but I wanted to ask just to be sure. Its a comet 30 torque converter on a Murray explorer

Fabroman
08-27-2013, 09:09 PM
You are correct, that looks like a simple V belt, nowhere near suitable. There's a belt guide link around here somewhere but, I can't seem to find it...

The unit appears to be a standard TAV 2 setup, measure the distance from centre to centre to be sure but, someone else who knows a bit more should chime in soon.

Sorry I couldn't be more help

itsid
08-27-2013, 09:58 PM
TAV2 has an asymetric belt (18 on one and 2.5 on the other side)
with a top width of 3/4" and an OD of 27 3/8"
the original part# is 203589A

similar belts are (AFAIK)
HOFFCO/COMET 203589A,
OREGON 84-027,
PRIME LINE 7-07895,
ROTARY 8487,
SUNBELT AC-589,
SUNBELT B1AC589 3/4"W x 27 3/8"OD

'sid

maximu5
08-28-2013, 12:50 AM
This might help: http://www.gokartsupply.com/identify.htm

landuse
08-28-2013, 01:37 AM
Here is the link for finding out what belt you need. All you need to know is the center to center distances between the driver and driven, and also the diameter of the driven

http://www.gokartsupply.com/tcbelts.htm

Fabroman
08-28-2013, 02:20 AM
Thanks guys :thumbsup:

Doc Sprocket
08-28-2013, 06:05 AM
I believe you can add Manco #5959 to the above list, but it is preferable to start with the Original Comet part number.

Just to reinforce the statement: You do indeed appear to have a V-belt. The pic's a bit blurry to me, but I think it's a 5L or B-series belt. There is no standard V-belt that will allow your CVT to function correctly. Pop on the proper belt, and you're off to the races.

dirtroaddrifter
08-28-2013, 08:56 AM
I really appreciate all the help I'll measure the distance between driver and driven then order the correct belt now